METRO AG

METRO AG – CDP and Science-based Targets

CS_Metro_Small

METRO is a leading international wholesaler of food and nonfood assortments, specializing in the needs of hotels, restaurants and caterers (HoReCa) as well as independent traders. Sustainability is an essential part of all activities for METRO. In the Dow Jones Sustainability Index, METRO has been the industry leader for four years. The company operates in 36 countries and employs more than 150,000 people worldwide.

„DFGE has helped us to clearly structure the response to CDP and address the calculation of the complex emissions target. This has made our work much easier.“
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Michael Goebbels, Director Corporate Responsibility, Strategy & ReportingMETRO AG

Further Information

Contact

CDP participation and complex emissions target

Challenge

METRO AG has participated in the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) since 2005. As with other listed companies, the sustainability services of METRO AG are particularly in the focus of public attention; therefore, when answering the CDP questionnaire, it should be ensured that the answers correspond to the efforts of METRO and reflect optimally the activities in this field.

In addition, METRO planned to extend the existing climate target by creating a science-based target (now approved) to underline its own ambitions and to pin down specific figures. The particular challenge here was the inclusion of indirect supply chain emissions, as METRO, as a trading company, maintains business relationships with a large number of suppliers and procures many thousands of products.

Tailored support

Solution

DFGE is an official CDP Climate Change Consultancy Partner and has years of experience helping customers answer the CDP Climate Questionnaire. First, the DFGE conducted a detailed analysis of last year’s response to identify gaps and potential for improvement. In a joint workshop, the results were discussed with the persons responsible at METRO AG and a prioritized implementation plan was worked out. The final questionnaire was then submitted for completeness, validity and plausibility before submitting a final check.

In preparation for the creation of the science-based emissions target, DFGE developed and examined several options for integrating the supply chain to comply with the requirements of the Science Based Target Initiative (SBTi). In a joint workshop, the variants were discussed and a timetable and task plan were prepared until implementation. The DFGE also developed a clear concept for indirect emissions, which enables the setting of a corresponding emission target. The DFGE accompanied METRO until the target was submitted to the SBTi.

Convincing result

Result

Despite the questionnaire revised by CDP, Metro AG achieved an excellent CDP result with an “A-” and kept the standard of the past. The science-based emission target for direct and indirect emissions was directly recognized by the SBTi and will be publicly available on the SBTI website from October 2019.

„Thanks to the cooperation with the DFGE, we are well positioned for CDP and can focus on achieving the science-based emissions target in the coming years. A successful cooperation!“
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Michael Goebbels, Director Corporate Responsibility, Strategy & ReportingMETRO AG
CDP Accredited Provider 2020 Logo
EcoVadis certified partner logo
UNCG Endorser Logo
GRI Community 2019 Logo

METRO AG

METRO AG – CDP und Science-based Target

CS_Metro_Small

METRO ist ein führender internationaler Großhändler mit Food- und Nonfood-Sortimenten, der auf die Bedürfnisse von Hotels, Restaurants und Caterern (HoReCa) sowie von unabhängigen Händlern spezialisiert ist. Nachhaltigkeit ist für METRO ein wesentlicher Bestandteil sämtlicher Aktivitäten. Im Dow Jones Sustainability Index ist METRO seit vier Jahren Branchen-Primus. Das Unternehmen ist in 36 Ländern aktiv und beschäftigt weltweit mehr als 150.000 Mitarbeiter.

„Die DFGE hat uns dabei geholfen, die Beantwortung von CDP klar zu strukturieren und die Berechnung des komplexen Emissionsziels anzugehen. Das hat uns die Arbeit wesentlich erleichtert.“
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Michael Goebbels, Director Corporate Responsibility, Strategy & ReportingMETRO AG

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

CDP-Erstteilnahme und komplexes Emissionsziel

Herausforderung

Die METRO AG nimmt seit 2005 am Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) teil. Wie auch bei anderen börsennotierten Konzernen stehen die Nachhaltigkeitsleistungen der METRO AG besonders im Fokus der öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit; daher sollte bei der Beantwortung des CDP-Fragebogens sichergestellt werden, dass die Antworten den Anstrengungen von METRO entsprechen und die Aktivitäten auf diesem Gebiet optimal wiederspiegeln.

Außerdem plante METRO die Erweiterung des bestehenden Klimaziels durch Erstellung eines (inzwischen genehmigten) wissenschaftsbasierten Emissionsziels (Science Based Target), um die eigenen Ambitionen zu unterstreichen und in konkrete Zahlen zu fassen. Die besondere Herausforderung bestand hier in der Einbeziehung der indirekten Lieferketten-Emissionen, da METRO als Handelsunternehmen mit einer großen Anzahl an Zulieferern Geschäftsbeziehungen unterhält und viele tausend Produkte bezieht.

Maßgeschneiderte Unterstützung

Lösung

Die DFGE ist offizieller CDP Climate Change Consultancy Partner und verfügt über jahrelange Erfahrung bei der Unterstützung von Kunden bei der Beantwortung des CDP Klima Fragebogens. Zunächst führte die DFGE eine ausführliche Analyse der vorhandenen Antworten durch, um Lücken und Verbesserungspotenziale zu identifizieren. In einem gemeinsamen Workshop wurden die Ergebnisse mit den Verantwortlichen der METRO AG durchgesprochen und eine priorisierte Umsetzungsplanung erarbeitet. Der finale Fragebogen wurde dann vor Abgabe einer finalen Prüfung auf Vollständigkeit, Validität und Plausibilität unterzogen.

Als Vorbereitung der Erstellung des wissenschaftsbasierten Emissionsziels erarbeitete und prüfte die DFGE mehrere Optionen für die Einbeziehung der Lieferkette auf Übereinstimmung mit den Anforderungen der Science Based Target Initiative (SBTi). In einem gemeinsamen Workshop wurden die Varianten besprochen und ein Zeit- und Aufgabenplan bis zur Umsetzung erarbeitet. Auch für die indirekten Emissionen entwickelte die DFGE ein klares Konzept, das das Setzen eines entsprechenden Emissionsziels ermöglicht. Die DFGE begleitete METRO bis zur Einreichung des Zieles bei der SBTi.

Überzeugendes Ergebnis

Ergebnis

Trotz des von CDP überarbeiteten Fragebogens konnte die Metro AG mit einem „A-“ ein hervorragendes CDP-Ergebnis erzielen und den Standard aus der Vergangenheit halten. Das wissenschaftsbasierte Emissionsziel für direkte und indirekte Emissionen wurde unmittelbar von der SBTi anerkannt und ist auf der SBTI-Webseite ab Oktober 2019 öffentlich einsehbar.

„Dank der Zusammenarbeit mit der DFGE sind wir bei CDP bestens aufgestellt und können uns in den nächsten Jahren auf die Erreichung des wissenschaftsbasierten Emissionsziels konzentrieren. Eine rundum gelungene Zusammenarbeit!“
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Michael Goebbels, Director Corporate Responsibility, Strategy & ReportingMETRO AG
CDP Accredited Provider 2019 Logo
EcoVadis certified partner logo
UNCG Endorser Logo
GRI Community 2019 Logo