Conrad Electronic SE

Conrad Electronic SE – Sustainability Management through EcoVadis

Conrad_small_CS

Founded in 1923, Conrad Electronic is a family business based in Hirschau, Eastern Bavaria. It has 3,700 employees in the Conrad Group and is represented by national companies in 16 European countries.

Digital platforms and services make Conrad the central hub for the technology and electronics industry: as one of the leading European B2B distributors, Conrad offers business customers a constantly growing B2B marketplace on conrad.de, individual consulting by key account managers and business consultants in the branches. The product range currently comprises more than 5 million products from leading manufacturers and brands.

“With a score of 51 points, we underscored our commitment to compliance and at the same time received important information on how sustainable procurement in the Conrad Supply Chain can be made even more outstanding in the future.”
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Stefan Fuchs, Vice President Online Sales DACH at Conrad ElectronicConrad Electronic SE

Further Information

Contact

Sustainability means more than environmental management

Challenges

As one of the leading global distributors of technology and electronics in Germany and Europe, Conrad offers its customers a very wide range of products. This naturally results in an extensive global supply chain system and a great responsibility for the environment and people. After Conrad 2018 was confronted with customer requests to participate in the sustainability platform EcoVadis, the best solution was sought to merge the existing measures, policies and KPIs with the least possible internal personnel expenditure, to prepare them for the assessment and to meet the EcoVadis requirements.

Conrad attaches great importance to environmental issues and the preservation of healthy livelihoods, which are implemented in the company’s environmental statement and in the application of the EMAS environmental management system.

The company’s concrete measures include the environmentally friendly disposal and reuse of electrical appliances, packaging and batteries, and strict compliance with EU directives (e.g. RoHs and REACH) as well as legal requirements (e.g. ecodesign regulations). In addition, the company strives to offer a wide range of energy-efficient electrical appliances with the lowest possible power consumption at all times.

Support from DFGE in response to the EcoVadis Assessment

Solutions

Conrad became aware of the DFGE through the free EcoVadis webinars. In the course of the discussion of Conrad queries, the DFGE was able to convince as a competent contact and received the consulting order from Conrad.

With individual care to the silver status right away

Results

First of all, the main contact person at Conrad, Ms Lehner, was identified together with the contact persons of the departments within the company and familiarised with the requirements of the EcoVadis assessment in a workshop. This was followed by a formalised data collection and document review process led by the DFGE. By means of a gap analysis, the collected documents were checked for their suitability for the assessment and remaining gaps were pointed out. Conrad and the DFGE then closed these gaps together by searching for specific evidence. In the end, the DFGE accompanied the completion of the EcoVadis questionnaire and ensured the data upload of all required documents to the assessment platform.

By commissioning DFGE, Conrad was able to go through the EcoVadis process in a resource-conserving and uncomplicated manner, without having to set up cost-intensive personnel structures themselves. The target of 45/100 was clearly exceeded and with 51/100 Conrad received the EcoVadis silver status and belongs to the top 30% performers of the EcoVadis platform. In addition, entrepreneurial approaches were recognized, which now represent a good starting point for process improvements and better rating results in the future.

Thanks to DFGE’s support, Ms Lehner’s team was able to quickly identify the required data, mobilise the Conrad departments involved and define improvement measures and objectives. The Conrad team is very satisfied with this good result and strives to increase the value in the future.

The DFGE would like to thank Conrad for the opportunity and the good cooperation. The DFGE will gladly accompany the company on its way to a systematic sustainability policy.

„We have come to know and appreciate the DFGE as a competent partner. We were accompanied through the EcoVadis process quickly and in a resource-saving manner. Thanks to the help of the DFGE, we were able to achieve EcoVadis silver status in 2019.“
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Christina Lehner, responsible at ConradConrad Electronic SE
CDP Accredited Provider 2020 Logo
EcoVadis certified partner logo
UNCG Endorser Logo
GRI Community 2019 Logo

Conrad Electronic SE

Conrad Electronic SE – Durch EcoVadis zum Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement

Conrad_small_CSDas 1923 gegründete Familienunternehmen Conrad Electronic, mit Sitz im oberpfälzischen Hirschau in Ostbayern, hat 3.700 Mitarbeiter in der Conrad Gruppe und ist in 16 europäischen Ländern mit Landesgesellschaften vertreten.

Digitale Plattformen und Services machen Conrad zum zentralen Drehkreuz für die Technik- und Elektronik-Branche: Businesskunden bietet Conrad als einer der führenden europäischen B2B-Distributoren einen ständig wachsenden B2B Marketplace auf conrad.de, individuelle Beratung durch Key Account Manager und Businessberater in den Filialen. Das Sortiment umfasst derzeit mehr als5Millionen Produkte führender Hersteller und Marken.

“Mit einem Ergebnis von 51 Punkten haben wir unser Engagement im Bereich „Compliance“ untermauert und gleichzeitig wichtige Hinweise erhalten, wie nachhaltige Beschaffung in der Conrad Supply Chain künftig noch herausragender gestaltet werden kann.”
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Stefan Fuchs, Vice President Online Sales DACH von Conrad ElectronicConrad Electronic SE

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet mehr als Umweltmanagement

Herausforderung

Als einer der global führenden Distributoren von Technik und Elektronik in Deutschland und Europa, offeriert Conrad seinen Kunden eine sehr breite Produktpalette. Dadurch ergibt sich naturgemäß ein weit verzweigtes globales Lieferkettensystem und einhergehend eine große Verantwortung für Umwelt und Mensch. Nachdem sich Conrad 2018 durch Kundenanfragen mit einer Teilnahme an der Nachhaltigkeitsplattform EcoVadis konfrontiert sah, suchte man die beste Lösung, um mit möglichst geringem internen Personalaufwand die bestehenden Maßnahmen, Policies und KPIs zusammenzuführen, für das Assessment aufzubereiten und den EcoVadis Anforderungen gerecht werden zu können.

Die Themen Umwelt und der Erhalt gesunder Lebensgrundlagen weisen für Conrad eine hohe Bedeutung auf und finden u. a. Umsetzung in der Umwelterklärung des Unternehmens und in der Anwendung des EMAS-Umweltmanagementsystems.

Zu den konkreten Maßnahmen des Unternehmens gehören die umweltgerechte Entsorgung und Wiederverwendung von Elektrogeräten, Verpackungen und Batterien/Akkus und die strikte Einhaltung von EU-Richtlinien (bspw. RoHs und REACH) wie auch gesetzlichen Vorgaben (bspw. Ökodesign-Vorschrift). Zudem ist das Unternehmen bestrebt, jederzeit eine breite Palette an energieeffizienten Elektrogeräten mit möglichst niedrigem Stromverbrauch anzubieten.

Unterstützung durch DFGE als Antwort auf das EcoVadis-Assessment

Lösung

Conrad wurde durch die kostenfreien EcoVadis Webinare auf die DFGE aufmerksam. Im Zuge der Diskussion von Conrad-Rückfragen, konnte die DFGE als kompetenter Ansprechpartner überzeugen und erhielt den Beratungsauftrag von Conrad.

Mit individueller Betreuung auf Anhieb zum Silberstatus

Ergebnis

Zuerst wurde gemeinsam mit der Hauptansprechpartnerin bei Conrad, Frau Lehner, die Ansprechpartner der Fachbereiche innerhalb des Unternehmens identifiziert und im Rahmen eines Workshops mit den Anforderungen des EcoVadis-Assessments vertraut gemacht. Daraufhin erfolgte eine von der DFGE angeleitete formalisierte Datensammlung und Dokumentensichtung. Mittels einer Gap-Analyse wurden die gesammelten Dokumente dann auf deren Eignung für das Assessment geprüft und verbleibende Lücken aufgezeigt. Diese Lücken schlossen Conrad und die DFGE dann gemeinsam, indem gezielt Nachweise gesucht wurden. Letztlich begleitete die DFGE die Ausfüllung des EcoVadis-Fragebogens und stellte den Daten-Upload aller dafür benötigten Dokumente in die Assessment-Plattform sicher.

Durch die Beauftragung der DFGE konnte Conrad den EcoVadis-Prozess ressourcenschonend und unkompliziert durchlaufen, ohne selbst kostenintensive Personalstrukturen aufbauen zu müssen. Das Ziel von 45/100 wurde dabei deutlich übertroffen und mit 51/100 hat Conrad den EcoVadis-Silberstatus erhalten und gehört damit zu den Top 30%-Performern, der EcoVadis Plattform. Zudem wurden unternehmerische Ansätzeerkannt, die nun einen guten Ausgangspunkt für Prozessverbesserungen und künftig bessere Rating-Ergebnisse darstellen.

Aufgrund der Unterstützung durch die DFGE konnte das Team um Frau Lehner, die benötigten Daten schnell identifizieren, die involvierten Conrad-Abteilungen mobilisieren und Verbesserungsmaßnahmen und Zielstellungen definieren. Das Conrad-Team ist sehr zufrieden mit diesem guten Ergebnis und strebt an, den Wert in der Zukunft noch zu steigern.

Die DFGE möchte sich bei Conrad für die Möglichkeit und die gute Zusammenarbeit bedanken. Gerne wird die DFGE das Unternehmen auf dem weiteren Weg zu einer systematischen Nachhaltigkeitspolitik begleiten.

„Wir haben die DFGE als kompetenten Partner kennen- und schätzen gelernt. Wir wurden schnell sowie ressourcenschonend durch den EcoVadis Prozess begleitet. Dank der Hilfe der DFGE konnten wir 2019 den EcoVadis Silber-Status erreichen.“
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Christina Lehner, zuständige Verantwortliche bei ConradConrad Electronic SE
CDP Accredited Provider 2019 Logo
EcoVadis certified partner logo
UNCG Endorser Logo
GRI Community 2019 Logo