Present Perfect GmbH

From individual sustainability activities to a structured sustainability management: Present Perfect GmbH improves its EcoVadis assessment from bronze to gold

Present Perfect GmbH (hereinafter: Present Perfect) has focused on high-quality promotional products and trade marketing since its foundation in the late 1990s. As an owner-managed company with around 35 permanent employees, Present Perfect is aware of its social and ecological responsibility. Requested by a customer, Present Perfect was asked to participate in an EcoVadis rating.

EcoVadis is a sustainability assessment platform for global supply chains. More than 40,000 companies use the platform to create supply chain visibility and build trust between business partners. Purchasers of large companies ask their suppliers for an evaluation by EcoVadis regarding the performance of their supply chains, using various CSR indicators. The suppliers answer a questionnaire and substantiate their answers with the help of, for example, procedural instructions and policies. The responses are evaluated by EcoVadis experts and then made available to the requesting company in the form of a scorecard.

The cooperation with the DFGE has helped us to structure our sustainability management and to lay the foundation for our future CSR engagement.“
Jörg Grube, Managing DirectorPresent Perfect GmbH

Further information

Contact

Challenge

The core challenge for Present Perfect was to formalize existing sustainability activities and embed them in a structured sustainability management system. Similar to other smaller service companies, Present Perfect considers common CSR activities as a matter of course (e. g. the prohibition of child and forced labour or the possibility to use a whistle-blower mechanism), but not as such in a policy or process description. Although Present Perfect has already implemented a wide range of social and environmental activities – both within the company and in relation to its suppliers – there has been no reporting on its CSR performance so far.

As a result, the previous EcoVadis rating was ‘only’ 43 points, which does not reflect the actual sustainability performance of Present Perfect. With the goal of achieving at least silver status (45-61 points) at the next evaluation, Present Perfect commissioned DFGE to help structuring its sustainability management system. As an official EcoVadis partner, DFGE has many years of experience in providing its customers and their suppliers an optimal support in participating in EcoVadis.

With EcoVadis Complete to a structured sustainability management

Solution

The aim of the joint project was to collect the necessary evidence and to formalize the sustainability management of Present Perfect. This should provide a starting point for a structured CSR management.

After analysing the existing documents, not only missing evidence for existing sustainability activities was identified, but also missing formalized corporate processes. Together with the DFGE, Present Perfect implemented necessary improvement and structuring measures, which revealed more accurate evidence as part of the EcoVadis assessment.

All activities were also linked with a specific Key Performance Indicator (KPI) and summarized in a KPI dashboard for regular review. It also enabled a more efficient response to the questionnaire and an easier uploading of the required evidence to the EcoVadis platform. At the end of the project, Present Perfect received a summary of all suggestions that could be used for their future CSR management.

Improvement within all four EcoVadis categories

Result

As part of the joint project, the following improvement measures could be implemented:

  • Membership of the UN Global Compact
  • Key figure calculation and summary
  • Proof of further measures with appropriate documentation: e. g. Environmental and Procurement Directives, Whistleblowing Procedures, Employee Training on Environmental Issues, Occupational Health and Safety, Anti-Corruption, Supplier Evaluation Sheet, Supplier Code of Conduct, etc.

The formalization and structuring of existing activities as well as the introduction of new processes resulted in a significantly improved EcoVadis rating. Present Perfect has achieved a score of 70/100 in the most recent evaluation and is now holding the EcoVadis Gold status.

‘The outstanding score of Present Perfect shows that even smaller companies can implement a structured sustainability management system with relatively little effort’, says Dr.-Ing. Thomas Fleissner, Founder and CEO of DFGE. ‘We congratulate Present Perfect on achieving the Gold status and are looking forward to further cooperation.’

cdp-logo-grey
ecovadis-logo-grey
ungc-logo-grey
gri-logo-grey

Present Perfect GmbH

Von einzelnen Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten zum strukturierten Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement: Die Present Perfect GmbH verbessert ihre EcoVadis Bewertung von Bronze auf Gold

Die Present Perfect GmbH (nachfolgend: Present Perfect) steht seit ihrer Gründung Ende der 90er Jahre für hochwertige Werbeartikel und Handelsmarketing. Als inhabergeführtes Unternehmen mit rund 35 festangestellten Mitarbeitern ist sich Present Perfect seiner gesellschaftlichen und ökologischen Verantwortung bewusst. Auf Anfrage eines Kunden hin, wurde Present Perfect dazu aufgefordert, eine EcoVadis Bewertung zu durchlaufen.

EcoVadis ist eine Nachhaltigkeits-Bewertungsplattform für globale Beschaffungsketten. Über 40.000 Unternehmen nutzen die Plattform, um Transparenz in der Lieferkette zu schaffen und Vertrauen zwischen Geschäftspartnern aufzubauen. Einkäufer großer Unternehmen fragen Ihre Lieferanten nach einer Bewertung durch EcoVadis bzgl. der Performance ihrer Lieferketten und nutzen dabei verschiedene CSR-Indikatoren. Die Lieferanten beantworten dazu einen Fragebogen und belegen Ihre Antworten mit Hilfe von beispielsweise Verfahrensanweisungen und Policies. Die Antworten werden von EcoVadis-Experten ausgewertet und anschließend dem anfragenden Unternehmen in Form einer Scorecard zur Verfügung gestellt.

„Die Zusammenarbeit mit der DFGE hat uns dabei geholfen, unser Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement zu strukturieren und den Grundstein für unser zukünftiges CSR-Engagement zu legen.“
Jörg Grube, GeschäftsführerPresent Perfect GmbH

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Herausforderung

Die Kernherausforderung für Present Perfect bestand darin, die bestehenden Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten zu formalisieren und in ein strukturiertes Nachhaltigkeitsmanagementsystem einzubetten. Ähnlich wie bei anderen, kleineren Dienstleistungsunternehmen wurden auch bei Present Perfect gängige CSR-Aktivitäten als Selbstverständlichkeit erachtet (z.B. das Verbot von Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit oder die Möglichkeit einen Whistleblower Mechanismus zu nutzen), aber nicht als solche in einer Policy oder Prozessbeschreibung verschriftlicht. Obwohl Present Perfect bereits vielfältige Aktivitäten im sozialen und ökologischen Bereich – innerhalb des Unternehmens, aber auch in Bezug auf ihre Zulieferer – unternommen hat, fand bislang noch keine Berichterstattung über die CSR-Leistungen statt.

Aufgrund dessen belief sich die bisherige EcoVadis-Bewertung auf „nur“ 43 Punkte, was die tatsächliche Nachhaltigkeitsleistung von Present Perfect nicht widerspiegelt. Mit dem Ziel vor Augen, bei der nächsten Bewertung mindestens auf Silber Status (45-61 Punkte) zu kommen, beauftragte Present Perfect die DFGE, bei der Strukturierung eines Nachhaltigkeitsmanagementsystems zu helfen. Als offizieller EcoVadis-Partner hat die DFGE langjährige Erfahrung, ihre Kunden und deren Zulieferer bestmöglich bei einer EcoVadis-Teilnahme zu unterstützen.

Mit EcoVadis Complete zum strukturierten Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement

Lösung

Ziel des gemeinsamen Projektes war es, erforderliche Nachweise zusammenzutragen und das Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement von Present Perfect zu formalisieren. Dadurch sollte eine Ausgangsbasis für ein strukturiertes CSR-Management geschaffen werden.

Nach Analyse der bereits vorhandenen Dokumente, wurden nicht nur fehlende Nachweise für bestehende Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten identifiziert, sondern auch fehlende formalisierte Unternehmensprozesse aufgezeigt. Gemeinsam mit der DFGE hat Present Perfect notwendige Verbesserungs- und Strukturierungsmaßnahmen umgesetzt, wodurch im Rahmen der nächsten EcoVadis Bewertung zutreffendere Nachweise offengelegt werden konnten.

Sämtlichen Aktivitäten wurde zudem ein entsprechender Key Performance Indicator (KPI) zugewiesen und in einem KPI Dashboard zur regelmäßigen Überprüfung zusammengefasst. Anhand dessen war außerdem eine effizientere Beantwortung des Fragebogens sowie ein leichteres Hochladen der geforderten Nachweise in die EcoVadis Plattform möglich. Zu Projektende erhielt Present Perfect eine Zusammenfassung mit allen Vorschlägen, die für das zukünftige CSR Management genutzt werden können.

Verbesserung in allen vier EcoVadis-Kategorien

Ergebnis

Im Rahmen des gemeinsamen Projektes konnten folgende Verbesserungsmaßnahmen umgesetzt werden:

  • Mitgliedschaft beim UN Global Compact
  • Kennzahlenermittlung und -zusammenfassung
  • Nachweis weiterer Maßnahmen mit entsprechender Dokumentation: z. B. Umwelt- und Beschaffungsrichtlinie, Whistleblowing-Verfahren, Mitarbeiterschulungen zu Themen im Bereich Umwelt, Arbeitssicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz und Anti-korruption, Lieferantenbewertungsbogen, Supplier Code of Conduct etc.

Die Formalisierung und Strukturierung der bestehenden Aktivitäten sowie die Einführung neuer Prozesse resultierte in einer erheblich verbesserten EcoVadis-Bewertung. Present Perfect hat in der jüngsten Evaluierung einen Score von 70/100 erreicht und hält somit nun den EcoVadis Gold-Status inne.

„Der herausragende Score von Present Perfect zeigt, dass auch kleinere Unternehmen mit relativ wenig Aufwand ein strukturiertes Nachhaltigkeitsmanagementsystem implementieren können“, fasst Dr.-Ing. Thomas Fleissner, Gründer und Geschäftsführer der DFGE, zusammen. „Wir gratulieren Present Perfect zu dem erreichten Gold-Status und freuen uns auf eine weitere Zusammenarbeit.“

cdp-logo-grey
ecovadis-logo-grey
ungc-logo-grey
gri-logo-grey