Lansinoh Laboratories Inc.

Lansinoh on the route to climate neutrality

Lansinoh Case StudyLansinoh Laboratories Inc. is one of the world’s leading companies for breastfeeding products, not least because of its first-class research and innovative developments. Together with the DFGE – Institute for Energy, Ecology and Economy, the company wants to become climate neutral in the long term. The following case study explains the challenges that must be faced and overcome, on the way to climate neutrality – both for individual products in the portfolio and, ultimately, the entire company.

“Our future, the future of our families, and the future of the planet depend on the actions we take today. With DFGE we have found the right partner who supports us in our goals with decades of experience in the field of life cycle assessment, sustainability reporting and CSR.”
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Heike Hinrichs, Head of Global Corporate PlanningLansinoh Laboratories Inc.

Further Information

Contact

Credible sustainability communication requires data and facts

Challenges

Lansinoh support mothers and babies around the world. Since 2019 company-wide sustainability has been a focus defined by Lansinoh’s management. When looking for support in the scientifically based implementation of the global sustainability strategy, Lansinoh chose DFGE as a partner.

The complex challenges of the collaboration include:

  • the calculation of a corporate carbon footprint (CCF)
  • the identification of the most important levers and the storage of these with appropriate measures to create a KPI Dashboard
  • Setting a clear goal to reduce greenhouse gases (GHG), the so-called Science-Based Targets (SBT)
  • the development and implementation of a Climate Action Plan  to reduce the carbon footprint
  • Achieving climate neutrality for selected products based on the Product Carbon Footprint (PCF) by reducing emissions and compensating unavoidable ones.

On the way to climate neutrality: Corporate Carbon Footprint, Product Carbon Footprint, Science Based Targets and Climate Action Plan

Solutions

As a first step the company-wide carbon footprint for Lansinoh was calculated, which is the important basis and first step in the company sustainability management. It was necessary to define the basic processes and set up a structure for a data management plan. By using DFGE’s scientific TopDown approach, Lansinoh’s required effort and input could be kept to a minimum.

Based on the results of the carbon footprint, DFGE analysed the possible fields of action for emission reduction, to be discussed with the most important stakeholders in the company. Suppliers along the entire supply chain play a key role in Lansinoh’s overall emissions (Scope 3). This was followed by concrete measures to reduce the carbon footprint and a KPI dashboard for carbon footprint reduction was created. A KPI dashboard allows for better control, monitoring and overview of the data and tracking progress over time.

In a next step, the Science-Based Targets (SBT) documents were viewed and prepared. These documents are the basis for the decision on an ambitious target for emission reduction, in line with the target to limit global warming to 1.5° C. The documents were submitted in August 2020 and by October the target was already approved by the SBTi. In this context, Lansinoh also joined the United Nations initiative “Business Ambition for 1.5° C”.

Corporate sustainability is a constant process. To ensure that the reduction goals set are reached, further reduction measures must be taken. To better understand the impact of the Lansinoh product portfolio on emissions and find adequate reduction potentials, Product Carbon Footprint for selected products are now conducted.

Climate neutrality as a long-term goal

Result

With the calculation of the Corporate Carbon Footprint, Lansinoh receives reliable figures for effective emission management. Furthermore, the results can be used in the company’s sustainability communications. As mentioned, the carbon footprint figures were also used for setting the science-based target.

In the long term, Lansinoh wants to become a climate neutral company. A first step towards that goal is to achieve climate neutrality with selected products from the Lansinoh product portfolio.

 

For this purpose, an action plan / climate action plan for the products is being developed with DFGE on the basis of the previous analysis: wherever possible, emissions are reduced to a minimum and only unavoidable emissions are compensated for by offsetting emissions in climate protection projects (CO2e certificates).

In 2021, the DFGE will also support Laninosh to set up a sustainability report based on the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) as well as achieving climate neutrality with more products.

About Lansinoh Laboratories Inc.

Since 2004 Lansinoh also has a branch in Germany. The company sells premium breastfeeding products in drugstores, food retailers, pharmacies, baby shops and online with great success.

The international group, with headquarters in the USA, has been committed to a sustainable corporate policy for many years. Lansinoh has committed to a sustainability program that is based on scientific research and that complies with the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals, or SDGs for short.

UNCG Endorser Logo

Lansinoh Laboratories Inc.

Lansinoh auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität

Lansinoh Case StudyLansinoh Laboratories Inc. gehört, nicht zuletzt durch ihre erstklassige Forschung und innovative Entwicklungen, zu den weltweit führenden Unternehmen für Stillprodukte. Zusammen mit der DFGE – Institute for Energy, Ecology and Economy, möchte das Unternehmen auf lange Sicht klimaneutral werden. Die folgende Case Study erklärt, welche Hürden es auf dem Weg zur CO2E-Neutralstellung einzelner Produkte und schlussendlich des Unternehmens zu bewältigen gilt.

„Unsere Zukunft, die Zukunft unserer Familien und die Zukunft des Planeten sind abhängig von den Maßnahmen, die wir heute ergreifen. Mit DFGE haben wir den richtigen Partner gefunden, der uns bei unseren Zielen mit ihrer jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung im Bereich Ökobilanzierung, Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung und CSR unterstützt.“
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Heike Hinrichs, Head of Global Corporate PlanningLansinoh Laboratories Inc.

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Glaubhafte Nachhaltigkeitskommunikation benötigt Daten & Fakten

Herausforderung

Lansinoh macht sich für Mütter und Babys auf der ganzen Welt stark. Seit 2019 ist das Thema Nachhaltigkeit im Fokus der Konzernleitung. Bei der Suche nach Unterstützung bei der wissenschaftlich basierten Umsetzung globalen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie hat Lansinoh sich für DFGE als Partner entschieden.

Zu den komplexen Herausforderungen der Zusammenarbeit zählen:

  • die Berechnung eines Corporate Carbon Footprint (CCF)
  • die Identifikation der wichtigsten Hebel und Hinterlegung dieser mit entsprechenden Maßnahmen zur Erstellung eines KPI Dashboards
  • das Setzen eines klaren Ziels zur Reduktion der Treibhausgase (GHG), das sogenannte Science-Based Targets (SBT)
  • die Entwicklung und Implementierung eines Climate Action Plans zur Reduzierung des Carbon Footprints
  • die Neutralstellung einiger ausgewählter Produkte auf Basis des Product Carbon Footprints (PCF) durch den Kauf von CO2E-Zertifikaten.

Auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität: Corporate Carbon Footprint, Product Carbon Footprint, Science Based Targets und Climate Action Plan

Lösung

Zunächst wurde der unternehmensweite Carbon Footprint von Lansinoh berechnet, der eine wichtige Kennzahlen-Basis für den Nachhaltigkeitsbereich darstellt. Hierzu war es erforderlich, die notwenigen Prozesse zu definieren und eine Struktur für einen Datenmanagementplan aufzustellen. Durch Anwendung des wissenschaftlichen TopDown-Ansatzes der DFGE konnte der Aufwand hierfür auf Seiten von Lansinoh gering gehalten werden.

Basierend auf den Ergebnissen des Carbon Footprints analysierte die DFGE die möglichen Handlungsfelder für eine Diskussion mit den wichtigsten Stakeholdern im Unternehmen. Supplier und die gesamte Lieferkette spielen bei den Emissionen (Scope 3) eine wesentliche Rolle. Nachfolgend wurden Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung des CO2-Fußabdrucks identifiziert und um die Zahlen etwas greifbarer zu machen, wurde ein KPI-Dashboard für die Carbon Footprint Reduktion erstellt. Hierdurch konnten eine bessere Steuerung und Übersicht der Daten gewährleistet werden.

In einem weiteren Schritt wurden die Science-Based Targets (SBTi) Unterlagen gesichtet und vorbereitet. Diese Unterlagen sind die Grundlage für die Entscheidung eines ambitionierten Zieles zur Reduktion im Einklang mit einer maximalen Erderwärmung von 1,5°C. Die Unterlagen wurde im August 2020 eingereicht und bereits im Oktober freigegeben. In diesem Zuge ist Lansinoh auch der United Nations Initiative „Business Ambition for 1,5°C“ beigetreten.

Um sicherzustellen, dass die gesetzten Ziele auch erfüllt werden, müssen zukünftig weitere Maßnahmen getroffen werden. Hierzu werden für ausgewählte Produkte nun Product Carbon Footprintserstellt, um anschließend mit Akteuren der Lieferkette an Verbesserungen zu arbeiten und das Optimierungspotential voll auszuschöpfen.

Klimaneutralität als langfristiges Ziel

Ergebnis

Dank der Berechnung des Corporate Carbon Footprints erhält Lansinoh einerseits belastbares Zahlenmaterial für ein effektives Emissions-Management, andererseits können die Ergebnisse auch im zukünftigen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht verwendet werden. Auch bei der Berechnung des Science Based Targets fanden die Zahlen des Carbon Footprints Verwendung.

Langfristig möchte Lansinoh klimaneutral werden. Auf diesem Weg ist der nächste große Schritt, erste ausgewählte Produkte klimaneutral zu stellen. Hierzu wird mit der DFGE auf Basis der vorangegangenen Analysen ein Maßnahmenplan / Climate Action Plan für die Produkte entwickelt und nicht vermeidbare Emissionen werden durch Investitionen in Klimaschutzprojekte (CO2E-Zertifikate) kompensiert.

Zu Jahresbeginn 2021 folgen nun die Unterstützung der DFGE bei einem Nachhaltigkeitsbericht in Anlehnung an die Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) sowie die Neutralstellung weiterer Produkte.

Über Lansinoh Laboratories Inc.

Seit 2004 ist Lansinoh mit einer eigenen Niederlassung auch in Deutschland vertreten. Mit großem Erfolg vertreibt das Unternehmen Premium-Stillprodukte in Drogerien, im Lebensmitteleinzelhandel, in Apotheken, im Babyfachhandel und online.

Der internationale Konzern, mit Stammsitz in den USA bekennt sich seit vielen Jahren zu einer nachhaltigen Unternehmenspolitik.  So hat Lansinoh sich zu einem Nachhaltigkeitsprogramm verpflichtet, das auf wissenschaftlicher Forschung beruht und das die Ziele der Vereinten Nationen für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, kurz SDGs) unterstützt.

CDP Accredited Provider 2021 Logo
EcoVadis certified partner logo
UNCG Endorser Logo
GRI Community 2021 Logo