Bayer AG

Bayer AG – Support for the submission of SBTi climate protection targets

Bayer AG Case Study

Bayer AG is a global leader in the fields of health care and agriculture. The Group’s broad product range and research focus is on health care, crop protection and pest control. Its operating business is divided into the Consumer Health, Pharmaceuticals and Crop Science divisions.

Bayer AG has been committed to a sustainable corporate policy for many years and intends to further intensify its efforts starting this year (2020). Sustainability has thus become a permanent component of the annual planning and strategy cycle. As a result, the sustainability targets not only influence the company-wide decision-making processes, but also increasingly the compensation at management and board level. For some years now, this has had an impact on the qualitative component of short-term cash compensation and, from 2021, also on the quantitative long-term share-based cash compensation.

In addition, the company relies on an independent, externally staffed Sustainability Board to provide support in strategic issues and thought-provoking impulses.

“DFGE is a reliable, competent but also pragmatic partner for us”.
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Daniel Schneiders - Public Affairs, Science & SustainabilityBayer AG

Further Information

Contact

Timely submission of SBT documents

Challenge

Science Based Targets (SBT) are scientifically based CO2 reduction targets that are designed to help reduce global warming. In order to meet the comprehensive requirements of the responsible Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTi) and thus to ensure a smooth submission of SBTi climate protection targets, the SBTi form must be carefully prepared.

To ensure that the target submission is correctly completed and submitted in time for this year’s CDP deadline in June, Bayer AG commissioned DFGE to conduct an ad-hoc review of the prepared SBTi form.

Review of the prepared document under consideration of the relevant requirements

Solution

DFGE checked the Target Submission Form prefilled by Bayer for completeness and correctness. This review was based on the requirements of the guidelines and criteria of the SBTi. After an analysis phase, the document was successively corrected and completed together with the customer.

Following the revision, the form was submitted to the SBTi in due time. DFGE then helped Bayer to answer content-related questions during the review process of SBTi, the so-called Target Check.

Ensuring a successful SBT release

Result

DFGE is pleased to have played its part in ensuring that Bayer AG was able to successfully submit its SBT climate protection targets on time. This enabled Bayer to complete a further milestone in its ambitious sustainability strategy.

In addition, by setting SBT targets, the company was able to activate additional points in the CDP Climate Change Questionnaire and can now have justified hopes of receiving an “A” rating again in 2021.

The DFGE is looking forward to supporting Bayer’s sustainability efforts in future projects.

UNCG Endorser Logo

Bayer AG

Bayer AG – Unterstützung bei der Einreichung der SBTi-Klimaschutzziele

Bayer AG Case StudyDie Bayer AG ist ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen in den Bereichen Gesundheit und Agrarwirtschaft. Das breite Produktsortiment und die Forschungsschwerpunkte des Konzerns fokussieren sich auf die Themen Gesundheitsversorgung, Pflanzenschutz und Schädlingsbekämpfung. Das operative Geschäft gliedert sich dabei in die Divisionen Consumer Health, Pharmaceuticals und Crop Science.

Die Bayer AG bekennt sich seit vielen Jahren zu einer nachhaltigen Unternehmenspolitik und will ab diesem Jahr (2020) seine Bemühungen weiter intensivieren. So ist Nachhaltigkeit zu einem dauerhaften „Bestandteil des jährlichen Planungs- und Strategiezyklus geworden“. Als Ergebnis beeinflussen die Nachhaltigkeitsziele nicht nur die unternehmensweiten Entscheidungsprozesse, sondern auch zunehmend die Vergütungsregelungen der Management- und Vorstandsebene. Bereits seit einigen Jahren betrifft dies hierbei die qualitative Komponente der kurzfristigen Barvergütung und ab 2021 auch quantitativ die langfristige aktienbasierte Barvergütung.

Darüber hinaus setzt das Unternehmen auf einenunabhängigen, extern besetzten Nachhaltigkeitsrat der in Strategiefragen unterstützen und Denkanstöße liefern soll.

„Die DFGE ist für uns ein zuverlässiger, kompetenter, aber auch pragmatischer Partner.“
picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Daniel Schneiders - Public Affairs, Science & SustainabilityBayer AG

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Fristgerechte Einreichung der SBT-Unterlagen

Herausforderung

Science Based Targets (SBT) sind wissenschaftlich fundierte CO2-Reduktionsziele, welche helfen sollen, die globale Erderwärmung einzudämmen. Um den umfassenden Anforderungen der zuständigen Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTi) zu entsprechen und so eine reibungslose Einreichungder SBTi-Klimaschutzziele zu gewährleisten, bedarf es der sorgfältigen Ausarbeitung des SBTi-Formulars.

Damit die Zieleinreichung fristgerecht und korrekt zur diesjährigen CDP-Deadline im Juni durchgeführt werden konnte, beauftragte die Bayer AG die DFGE mit einem ad-hoc Review des vorbereiteten SBTi-Formulars.

Review der vorbereiteten Unterlage unter Berücksichtigung der relevanten Anforderungen

Lösung

Die DFGE überprüfte die von Bayer bereits befüllte Target Submission Form in Bezug auf Vollständigkeit und Korrektheit. Dieser Überprüfung wurden die Anforderungen aus dem Leitfaden und den Kriterien der SBTi zugrunde gelegt.

Nach einer Analyse-Phase wurde die Unterlage gemeinsam mit dem Kunden sukzessive korrigiert und komplettiert.

Im Anschluss an die Überarbeitung konnte das Formular fristgerecht bei der SBTi eingereicht werden.

Danach half die DFGE Bayer bei der Beantwortung von inhaltlichen Rückfragen im Zuge des Reviewprozesses der SBTi, dem sogenannten Target Check.

Sicherstellung einer erfolgreichen SBT Freigabe

Ergebnis

Die DFGE freut sich darüber ihren Anteil dazu beigetragen zu haben, dass die Bayer AG ihre SBT-Klimaschutzziele erfolgreich fristgerecht einreichen konnte. Dadurch konnte ein weiterer Meilenstein der ambitionierten Bayer-Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie umgesetzt werden.

Zudem konnte das Unternehmen durch die Setzung von SBT-Zielen zusätzliche Punkte im CDP Climate Change Fragebogen freischalten und kann sich nun berechtigte Hoffnungen darauf machen, auch 2021 wieder ein A-Rating zu erhalten.

Die DFGE freut sich darauf, die Nachhaltigkeitsbemühungen von Bayer in künftigen Projekten weiter zu begleiten.

CDP Accredited Provider 2020 Logo
EcoVadis certified partner logo
UNCG Endorser Logo
GRI Community 2019 Logo