CDP Forest

CDP Forest: A sustainability reporting with growing importance

CDP Forest

In addition to the topics of climate change and water, the issue of deforestation and logging is becoming increasingly important for companies and is becoming the focus of a wide range of stakeholders. Since 2012, CDP has therefore been using a dedicated questionnaire to ask companies about their activities as well as direct and indirect influences in this area, summarized under the term CDP Forest.

One of the world’s greatest causes of deforestation and forest degradation is commercial agriculture. An estimated 10-15% of global carbon emissions result from deforestation and forest degradation. Various commodities such as soybeans, palm oil, timber and cattle are either directly or indirectly related to deforestation and forest degradation and pose potentially significant business risks and negative environmental impacts on land, water, biodiversity and climate change. For this reason, more and more companies are being asked to participate in the CDP Forest Program with regard to their management of these risks.

Further Information

Contact

Our Services

Since 1999, DFGE has been working as a carbon footprint and ecology expert for small and medium-sized companies as well as for Fortune 500 corporations. DFGE is a CDP silver climate change consultancy partner. We help companies participate in the CDP programs – from climate change andwaterand forest, from investor to supply chain requests.

Depending on your company’s needs and goals of CDP participation, we provide the following dedicated service packages for the CDP Water Program:

CDP_ASP_2021_RED_RGB

     Professional: Successful right from the start

You were first asked to participate in the CDP Forest Program? Do you lack the capacity and know-how for this sustainability reporting?

We help you to participate in the CDP Forest Program with our Starter Package. The aim is to lay the foundation for your sustainability communication and to support you in answering the CDP Forest questionnaire on the “Awareness” evaluation level. The scope (main categories: Cattle, Palm oil, Soy, Timber, Mining, Rubber) can be adapted to your needs.

  • Workshop
  • Collection of data reflecting current practices
  • Suggestions for answers to the CDP questionnaire to aim for the CDP Pathway Developing Ability

     Enterprise: The CDP Forest complete package

Does your company want to further reduce the negative effects on forests? Your goal is to achieve a leading role in the medium or long term? Are you looking for expertise to further improve the CDP assessment?

Our Forest Management Package supports you in answering the CDP questionnaire at “Management” & “Leadership” level. We advise you on the development of guidelines, steering and target setting as well as on identifying the interests of your stakeholders and external engagement. Our services include the assessment of existing or potential traceability & certification systems for the commodity category to be reported. The scope (main categories: Cattle, Palm oil, Soy, Timber) can be adapted to your needs.

  • KickOff workshop – Briefing, data review, clear milestones and deliverables
  • Data collection by DFGE – Leveraging existing data, filling the gaps, focus on improvements
  • Carbon footprint calculation (optional)
  • Response suggestions by DFGE aiming for the CDP Pathway “Complete”

     Services: Individual & Modular

We consult you on an individual basis, providing internal trainings for your team, but also workshops and subtasks during the CDP participation. Our Consult package helps you identifying the gaps and formalize an improvement plan taking into account latest methodology development, yearly updates and focus on the gaps. Also, with our Check, you can benefit from external feedback before submitting to the CDP, and thus address short-term gaps to maximize your participation.

  • Consult: Gap analysis and Workshops
  • Validation of your responses with our Check before final submission to CDP
  • Tailor-made consulting services

Your Advantages:

  • Being an official CDP Silver Climate Change Consultancy Partner, we know the methodology of CDP
  • Save time and effort and make use of our expertise
  • Already for several years, we support some well-known CDP participants and help them to improve their answers for a better CDP performance
  • We can help you to hold your supply chain to account, and we can support also their CDP participation.
  • We take care of our customers in an integrated way – your CDP participation is just one part of CSR. Our Sustainability Intelligence solutions create transparency and synergy, no matter in which reporting initiative you participate.
  • We do not see ourselves as consultants which accompany you for months on site and conduct long lasting projects, but in contrast as service providers – in order to minimize resources you have to invest for a successful CDP participation.
  • Also, we are not an advertising company which makes your charts look more beautiful. Originally, we come from science, and that still influences the way we work today.
What is CDP about?

Since its foundation in 2000 the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) became an authority for environmental reporting and rating. CDP’s database is today the biggest in this class and stores data and information of corporations and their CO2 emissions, climate risks and corporate reduction strategies worldwide. CDP ratings are incorporated in financial ratings as on the Deutsche Börse, Reuters or Google Finance.

What is being scored?

The CDP survey on climate change evaluates four aspects of sustainable economies:

  1. Judgements of management about risks and chances related to climate change
  2. Systematic collection and calculation of CO2 emissions (Carbon Accounting)
  3. Management strategies for reduction of CO2 emissions, risk management and potentials
  4. Corporate Governance for climate change

Supply chain integration

Some companies are asked by their investors to take part in the CDP, while others are asked by their customers through the Supply Chain module. Some companies can answer both if they are asked by investors and customers. The contents of the Supply Chain module contain the Core questionnaire (same contents as for the Investor request) and specific questions for the supply chain. More than 115 organizations request 11,5000 suppliers to take part in the CDP questionnaire.

CDP Forest

CDP Forest: Ein Nachhaltigkeitsreporting mit wachsender Bedeutung

CDP ForestNeben den Themengebieten Climate Change und Water gewinnt das Thema Abholzung und Entwaldung für Unternehmen immer mehr an Bedeutung und rückt stärker in den Fokus verschiedenster Stakeholder. Seit 2012 befragt CDP deshalb mittels eines eigenen Fragebogens Unternehmen zu ihren Aktivitäten bzw. direkten und indirekten Einflüssen in diesem Bereich, zusammengefasst unter dem Begriff CDP Forest.

Eine der weltweit größten Ursachen für Entwaldung und Waldschädigung ist die kommerzielle Landwirtschaft. Schätzungsweise 10-15% der globalen Kohlenstoffemissionen resultieren aus Entwaldung und Waldschädigung. Verschiedene Handelsgüter wie Soja, Palmöl, Nutz- und Bauholz und Rinder stehen dabei entweder im direkten oder indirekten Zusammenhang mit Entwaldung und Waldschädigung und stellen potentiell erhebliche Geschäftsrisiken und negative Umweltauswirkungen auf Land, Wasser, Biodiversität und Klimawandel dar. Darum werden immer mehr Unternehmen bezüglich ihres Umgangs mit diesen Risiken zur Teilnahme am CDP Forest Programm angefragt.

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Unsere Services

Die DFGE arbeitet seit 1999 als Ökologie Experte für kleine Unternehmen, den Mittelstand als auch für Fortune 500 Unternehmen. Die DFGE ist ein Silver Climate Change Beratungspartner des CDP.

Wir helfen Unternehmen bei ihrer Teilnahme an CDP Programmen – von Treibhausgasen, über Supply Chain bis zum Wasser- und Forest-Programm. Abhängig von Ihren Bedürfnissen und Zielen bieten wir für das CDP Forest Programm folgende Lösungspakete an.

image of CDP accredited provider 2021

     Professional: Gleich zu Beginn erfolgreich

Sie wurden das erste Mal zur Teilnahme am CDP Forest Programm angefragt? Es fehlt Ihnen an Kapazitäten und dem Know-how für dieses Nachhaltigkeits-Reporting?

Wir helfen Ihnen mit unserem Starter-Paket bei der Teilnahme am CDP Forest Programm. Ziel ist es, einen Grundstein für Ihre Nachhaltigkeitskommunikation zu legen und Sie zu unterstützen, den CDP Forest Fragebogen auf der Bewertungsebene „Awareness“ zu beantworten. Hierbei kann der Umfang (Hauptkategorien: Cattle, Palm Oil, Soy, Timber, Mining, Rubber) an Ihre Bedürfnisse angepasst werden.

  • Workshop
  • Datensammlung auf Basis der aktuellsten Praktiken
  • Vorschläge für Antworten auf den CDP Fragebogen

     Enterprise: Das CDP Forest Komplettpaket

Ihr Unternehmen will die negativen Auswirkungen auf Wälder weiter reduzieren? Ihr Ziel ist es, eine führende Rolle mittel- oder langfristig zu erreichen? Sie suchen nach Expertise um die CDP Bewertung weiter zu verbessern?

Unser Forest Management Paket unterstützt Sie bei der Beantwortung des CDP-Fragebogens auf „Management” & „Leadership“ Ebene. Wir beraten Sie bei der Entwicklung von Richtlinien, der Steuerung und der Zielvorgabe sowie bei der Identifizierung der Interessen Ihrer Stakeholder und externem Engagement. Unsere Services umfassen die Beurteilung bestehender oder möglicher Traceability- & Zertifizierungssysteme für die zu berichtende Commodity-Kategorie. Hierbei kann der Umfang (Hauptkategorien: Cattle, Palm Oil, Soy, Timber, Mining, Rubber) an Ihre Bedürfnisse angepasst werden.

  • Kick-Off Workshop und Situationsanalyse
  • Review der bestehenden Daten und Analyse der Lücken
  • Berechnung Ihrer unternehmensweiten CO2-Bilanz (optional)
  • Vorschlag zu Antworten/Inhalten von der DFGE

     Services: Individuell & Modular

Wir beraten Sie individuell und führen interne Trainings für Ihr Team durch. Workshops und die Übernahme von Teilaufgaben während der CDP-Teilnahme sind ebenfalls möglich. Unser Beratungspaket hilft Ihnen, mögliche Problemstellen zu identifizieren und einen Verbesserungsplan unter Berücksichtigung der neuesten Methodenentwicklung zu erstellen, jährliche Updates durchzuführen und sich auf die Lücken zu konzentrieren. Außerdem können Sie mit unserem Check von externem Feedback profitieren, bevor Sie Ihre Daten an das CDP übermitteln, und so kurzfristig Lücken schließen, um Ihren Teilnahme-Erfolg zu maximieren.

  • Consult: Identifikation von Verbesserungs-potential und Durchführung von Workshops
  • Überprüfung Ihrer Antworten mit unserem Check vor der endgültigen Übermittlung an das CDP
  • Maßgeschneiderte Consulting Services

Ihre Vorteile:

  • Als offizieller CDP Silver Climate Change Consultancy Partner kennen wir die Methodik der CDP Bewertung
  • Sparen Sie Zeit und Mühe und nutzen Sie unsere Expertise
  • Seit vielen Jahren begleiten wir namhafte Teilnehmer des Carbon Disclosure Project und unterstützen mit validen Antworten für eine bessere Bewertung beim CDP
  • Wir können Ihnen helfen, Ihre Supply Chain mit in die Verantwortung zu nehmen und auch diese bei der CDP Teilnahme unterstüzen
  • Wir betreuen unsere Kunden ganzheitlich – Ihre CDP Teilnahme ist nur ein Teil der Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). Unsere Sustainability Intelligence Lösungen schaffen Transparenz und Synergie-Effekte, ganz gleich an welchem Reporting Sie teilnehmen
  • Wir sehen uns nicht als Consultants, die monatelang bei Ihnen vor Ort sitzen und jahrelange Projekte wollen, sondern als Coach, Berater und Dienstleister – um Ressourcen auf Ihrer Seite zu minimieren und dennoch erfolgreich am CDP teil zu nehmen
  • Auch sind wir keine Werbeagentur, die Ihre Daten hübscher macht. Unsere Wurzeln liegen in der Forschung und so arbeiten wir auch heute noch.
Worum geht es beim CDP?

Das Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) hat sich seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2000 als Instanz der Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung etabliert. Die Datenbank des CDP ist die grösste ihrer Art und beinhaltet Daten und Informationen weltweiter Unternehmen zu CO2-Emissionen, Klimarisiken und Reduktionszielen und –Strategien. In manchen Ländern wie z.B. in den U.S.A. fließt das CDP Reporting bereits in die Finanzbewertung ein (Deutsche Börse, Reuters, Google Finance).

Was wird bewertet?

Im CDP-Fragebogen zu Climate Change werden vier Aspekte des nachhaltigen Wirtschaftens von Unternehmen untersucht:

  1. Einschätzungen des Managements über die mit dem Klimawandel einhergehenden Risiken und Chancen für das Unternehmen
  2. Systematische Erfassung von Treibhausgas-emissionen (Carbon Accounting)
  3. Strategien des Managements hinsichtlich der Reduktion von Treibhausgas-emissionen, Risikosteuerung und Erschließung von Potenzialen
  4. Corporate Governance hinsichtlich des Klimawandels

Supply Chain Einbindung?

Einige Unternehmen werden von ihren Investoren gebeten, am CDP teilzunehmen, während andere von ihren Kunden über das Supply Chain Modul gefragt werden. Einige Unternehmen können beides beantworten, wenn sie von Investoren und Kunden gefragt werden. Die Inhalte des Moduls Supply Chain enthalten den Kernfragebogen (gleicher Inhalt wie bei der Investorenanfrage) und spezifische Fragen für die Lieferkette. Mehr als 115 Unternehmen fordern 11.5000 Lieferanten auf, am CDP-Fragebogen teilzunehmen.

Weitere Infos