CDP Water

CDP Water: An important sustainability reporting on the rise

cdp water

In 2010 CDP started to invite companies to report on water-related risks and opportunities, according the growing expectations by investors, civil society and NGOs for transparency and quantitative measurement of progress. The goal is to catalyse action on corporate water stewardship to safeguard water resources and address the global water crisis.

The CDP water program responds to the ever-growing need to address the global water crisis. Many regions of the world suffer water shortages – and as a result, companies are asked to disclose their impacts on climate change and, more specifically, their water management practices.

Further information

Contact

 Our Services

image of CDP accredited provider 2019

Since 1999, DFGE has been working as a carbon footprint and ecology expert for small and medium-sized companies as well as for Fortune 500 corporations. DFGE is a CDP silver climate change consultancy partner. We help companies participate in the CDP programs – from climate change to water, from investor to supply chain requests.

Depending on your company’s needs and goals of CDP participation, we provide the following dedicated service packages for the CDP Water Program:

Vorbild für CDP Climate Change ab 2016: Die Scoring-Kategorien des CDP Water Program.© DFGE, basierend auf http://www.cdp.net/Documents/Guidance/2015/Water-scoring-methodology-2015.pdf

     Starter: Successful from the beginning

You are not prepared for the invitation to the CDP water program? You’re lacking capacities and knowledge for this sustainability reporting?

We’ve put together a service package of basic support including the preparation of your responses at “Awareness” level. We determine your company’s relative exposure to water risks and impacts and calculate your water withdrawal at site. By this we address questions like where your production is facing issues of water scarcity or how your tier-one suppliers are affected by water resources.

  • Gap analysis and workshop
  • Targeted collection of data reflecting current practices
  • Questions / Answers on the “awareness” level

     Complete: CDP Water Complete Package

Your company plans to move towards good water management with the goal to establish leadership over time? You’re looking for expertise to improve your CDP scoring?

Our water management package supports your company with answers to the CDP questionnaire at “Management” level. We consult you in policy development, governance and target setting as well as in identifying your stakeholder interests and external engagement. Our services include detection of water consumption, water withdrawal by source type and in your value chain

  • Gap analysis and workshop focusing on the main gaps
  • Data collection targeting gaps, improvement and updates
  • Completion of the questionnaire based on Management level

     Services: Individual & Modular

We consult you on an individual basis, providing internal trainings for your team, but also workshops and subtasks during the CDP participation. Our Consult package helps you identifying the gaps and formalize an improvement plan taking into account latest methodology development, yearly updates and focus on the gaps. Also, with our Check, you can benefit from external feedback before submitting to the CDP, and thus address short-term gaps to maximize your participation.

  • Consult: Gap analysis and Workshops
  • Validation of your responses with our Check before final submission to CDP
  • Tailor-made consulting services
  • Webinars
CDP SEASON 2019 – VISIT OUR CDP WEBINARS

After the official webinar in cooperation with the CDP, we also offer you individual online sessions:

  • Understanding the changes in CDP 2019
  • Key challenges and how they can be addressed internally (risk/opportunity management, scenario analysis and decarbonisation strategy, supply & value chain engagement)
  • Links to other reporting requirements

Your Advantages:

  • Being an official CDP Silver Climate Change Consultancy Partner, we know the methodology of CDP
  • Save time and effort and make use of our expertise
  • We have been supporting well-known CDP participants and helping them to improve their answers for a better CDP performance for many years now
  • We can help you to hold your supply chain to account, and we can support also their CDP participation.
  • We take care of our customers in an integrated way – your CDP participation is just one part of CSR. Our Sustainability Intelligence solutions create transparency and synergy, no matter in which reporting initiative you participate.
  • We do not see ourselves as consultants which accompany you for months on site and conduct long lasting projects, but in contrast as trainers or service providers – in order to minimize resources you have to invest for a successful CDP participation.
  • Also, we are not an advertising company which makes your charts look more beautiful. Originally, we come from science, and that still influences the way we work today.
Why a report about water?

CDP (formerly Carbon Disclosure Project) plays a central role in driving companies and their suppliers worldwide to report on carbon and climate change risks and opportunities. Companies voluntarily respond to the CDP’s questionnaire, and develop carbon and climate change mitigation and adaption strategies.

In 2010 CDP started to invite companies to report on water-related risks and opportunities, according the growing expectations by investors, civil society and NGOs for transparency and quantitative measurement of progress.

The goal is to catalyse action on corporate water stewardship to safeguard water resources and address the global water crisis.

What is being scored?

The CDP Water questionnaire evaluates different aspects:

  1. Judgements of management about risks and opportunities related water
  2. Systematic collection and calculation of water related KPIs
  3. Management strategies and targets, business strategy
  4. Corporate Governance for climate change

Supply Chain integration

Some companies are asked by their investors to take part in the CDP, while others are asked by their customers through the Supply Chain module. Some companies can answer both if they are asked by investors and customers. The contents of the Supply Chain module contain the Core questionnaire (same contents as for the Investor request) and specific questions for the supply chain. More than 115 organizations request 11,5000 suppliers to take part in the CDP questionnaire.

CDP Water

CDP Water: Ein Nachhaltigkeitsreporting mit wachsender Bedeutung

cdp water

Im Jahr 2010 begann das CDP Unternehmen auch zu einem Report über wasserbezogene Chancen und Risiken aufzufordern. Diese Initiative entstand durch die wachsenden Erwartungen von Investoren, NGOs als auch der Gesellschaft an die Transparenz und die Messbarkeit von Fortschritten. Das Ziel ist eine aktive Verantwortung der Unternehmen für Wasser, eine Sicherstellung der Ressource Wasser und die Berücksichtigung der weltweiten Wasserknappheit.

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Unsere Services

image of CDP accredited provider 2019

Die DFGE arbeitet seit 1999 als Ökologie Experte für kleine Unternehmen, den Mittelstand als auch für Fortune 500 Unternehmen. Die DFGE ist ein Silver Climate Change Beratungspartner des CDP.

Wir helfen Unternehmen bei ihrer Teilnahme an CDP Programmen – von Treibhausgasen, über Supply Chain bis zum Wasser-Programm. Abhängig von Ihrer Bedürfnissen und Zielen bieten wir für das CDP Water Program folgende Lösungspakete an:

Vorbild für CDP Climate Change ab 2016: Die Scoring-Kategorien des CDP Water Program.© DFGE, basierend auf http://www.cdp.net/Documents/Guidance/2015/Water-scoring-methodology-2015.pdf

     Starter: Gleich zu Beginn erfolgreich

Sie sind eigentlich für die Einladung des CDP zum Water Program noch gar nicht gewappnet? Es fehlt Ihnen an Kapazitäten und dem Know-how für dieses Nachhaltigkeits-Reporting?

Wir haben ein Service-Paket zusammen gestellt, das Sie unterstützt die Antworten der Ebene “Awareness” zu erarbeiten. Hierbei bestimmen wir das Gefahrenpotenzial und die Bedeutung von Wasser für Ihr Unternehmens. Und wir berechnen den Wasserverbrauch vor Ort. In diesem Zusammenhang befassen wir uns mit Fragen wo Ihre Produktion Wasserknappheit betreffen kann oder wie Ihre Hauptlieferanten von der Verfügbarkeit von Wasser betroffen sind. Die UN Wasser-Kategorie “Basic” dient in diesem Prozess als Benchmark.

  • Risikobewertung und Workshop
  • Gezielte Datenerhebung auf Basis der aktuellsten Praktiken
  • Fragen / Antworten auf der Awareness Ebene

     Complete: Das CDP Water Komplettpaket

Ihr Unternehmen will den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Wasser weiter verbessern? Ihr Ziel ist es, eine führende Rolle mittel- oder langfristig zu erreichen? Sie suchen nach Expertise um die CDP Bewertung weiter zu verbessern?

Unser Water Management Paket unterstützt Sie bei der Beantwortung des CDP-Fragebogens auf “Management” Ebene. Wir beraten Sie bei der Entwicklung von Richtlinien, der Steuerung und der Zielvorgabe sowie bei der Identifizierung der Interessen Ihrer Stakeholder und externem Engagement. Unsere Services umfassen die Aufdeckung von Wasserverbräuchen, Wasserentnahme nach Quellen-Typ und in Ihrer Wertschöpfungskette. Auch hier wird die UN Kategorie, in diesem Fall “Advanced”, als Benchmark unterstützend berücksichtigt.

  • Risikoanalyse und fokussierter Workshop
  • Detaillierte Datensammlung, Verbesserung und Updates
  • Beantwortung des kompletten Fragebogens auf Management Level
  • Water Footprint / Water Management

     Services: Individuell & Modular

Wir beraten Sie individuell und führen interne Trainings für Ihr Team durch. Workshops und die Übernahme von Teilaufgaben während der CDP-Teilnahme sind ebenfalls möglich. Unser Beratungspaket hilft Ihnen, mögliche Problemstellen zu identifizieren und einen Verbesserungsplan unter Berücksichtigung der neuesten Methodenentwicklung zu erstellen, jährliche Updates durchzuführen und sich auf die Lücken zu konzentrieren. Außerdem können Sie mit unserem Check von externem Feedback profitieren, bevor Sie Ihre Daten an das CDP übermitteln, und so kurzfristig Lücken schließen, um Ihren Teilnahme-Erfolg zu maximieren.

  • Consult: Risikoanalyse und Workshops
  • Validierung Ihrer Antworten mit unserem Check vor finaler Übermittlung an CDP
  • Maßgeschneiderte Consulting Services
  • Webinare
Neues zur CDP-Saison 2019 – Besuchen Sie unsere CDP Webinare

Nach dem offiziellen Webinar in Zusammenarbeit mit dem CDP bieten wir Ihnen auch individuelle Online-Sessions zu:

  • Verstehen der Änderungen im CDP 2019
  • Wesentliche Herausforderungen und wie diese intern adressiert werden können (Risiko-/Chancenmanagement, Szenario-Analyse und Dekarbonisierungs-Strategie, Engagement der Liefer- & Wertschöpfungskette)
  • Verbindungen zu anderen Berichterstattungsanforderungen

Ihre Vorteile:

  • Als offizieller CDP Silver Climate Change Consultancy Partner kennen wir die Methodik der CDP Bewertung
  • Sparen Sie Zeit und Mühe und nutzen Sie unsere Expertise
  • Seit vielen Jahren begleiten wir namhafte Teilnehmer des CDP und unterstützen mit validen Antworten für eine bessere Bewertung beim CDP
  • Wir können Ihnen helfen, Ihre Supply Chain mit in die Verantwortung zu nehmen und auch diese bei der CDP Teilnahme unterstützen
  • Wir betreuen unsere Kunden ganzheitlich – Ihre CDP Teilnahme ist nur ein Teil der CSR. Unsere Sustainability Intelligence Lösungen schaffen Transparenz und Synergie-Effekte, ganz gleich an welchem Reporting Sie teilnehmen
  • Wir sehen uns nicht als Consultants, die monatelang bei Ihnen vor Ort sitzen und jahrelange Projekte wollen, sondern als Coach, Berater und Dienstleister – um Ressourcen auf Ihrer Seite zu minimieren und dennoch erfolgreich am CDP teil zu nehmen
  • Auch sind wir keine Werbeagentur, die Ihre Daten hübscher macht. Unsere Wurzeln liegen in der Forschung und so arbeiten wir auch heute noch.
Warum ein Wasser-Report?

Das CDP (früher Carbon Disclosure Project) spielt eine zentrale Rolle, wenn es darum geht, Unternehmen und Ihre Lieferanten weltweit zu einem Bericht ihrer Treibhausgasemissionen und Managementstrategien hinsichtlich des Klimawandels zu bewegen.

Im Jahr 2010 begann das CDP Unternehmen auch zu einem Report über wasser-bezogene Chancen und Risiken aufzufordern. Diese Initiative entstand durch die wachsenden Erwartungen von Investoren, NGOs als auch der Gesellschaft an die Transparenz und die Messbarkeit von Fortschritten.

Das Ziel ist eine aktive Verantwortung der Unternehmen für Wasser, eine Sicherstellung der Resource Wasser und die Berücksichtigung der weltweiten Wasserknappheit.

Was wird bewertet?

Der CDP-Wasserfragebogen bewertet verschiedene Aspekte:

  • Beurteilungen des Managements über Risiken und Chancen im Zusammenhang mit Wasser
  • Systematische Erfassung und Berechnung wasserbezogener KPIs
  • Managementstrategien und -ziele, Geschäftsstrategie
  • Corporate Governance für den Klimawandel

Supply Chain Integration

Einige Unternehmen werden von ihren Investoren gebeten, am CDP teilzunehmen, während andere von ihren Kunden über das Supply Chain Modul gefragt werden. Andere Unternehmen können beides beantworten, wenn sie von Investoren und Kunden gefragt werden. Die Inhalte des Supply Chain Moduls enthalten den Kernfragebogen (gleicher Inhalt wie bei der Investorenanfrage) und spezifische Fragen bezüglich der Lieferkette. Mehr als 115 Unternehmen fordern 11.5000 Lieferanten auf, am CDP-Fragebogen teilzunehmen.