Environmental Social Governance (ESG)

The Corporate Social Responsibility in the Financial Sector

Environmental Social Governance (ESG) extends the concept of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). ESG links a responsible corporate attitude with investment decisions, so-called “socially responsible investing” or also known as “sustainable & green finance”. The DAX® 50 ESG tracks the performance of the 50 largest German companies, which show a similarly good performance based on ESG criteria. The European Union is calling for “sustainable finance” and the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) is eagerly awaited.

The accompanying shift in society towards transparency and credibility shows a clear shift towards sustainable investment decisions in the capital market. At DFGE – Institute for Energy, Ecology and Economy – we have been helping our clients make the right decisions for over two decades.

Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Criteria

A large number of ESG criteria are included by, for example, investors in the valuation and analysis of securities in order to be able to evaluate social, ecological and ethical aspects. These include the following, among others:

Environment

 

  • Environmental protection & biodiversity
  • Climate protection strategies / climate strategies
  • Use of renewable energies
  • Emissions reduction
  • Conscientious use of raw materials and energy

Social

 

  • Occupational safety & health protection
  • Compliance with labor rights
  • Fair working conditions
  • Prohibition of child labor / forced labor
  • Compliance with ESG criteria at suppliers and service providers

Governance

 

  • Ethical defensible corporate governance
  • Compliance
  • Prevention of corruption
  • Independent Supervisory Board
  • Risk Management
CDP Logo 2022
UNGC

ESG Services

More than 20 years experience & scientifically based

Services: Individual & modular

At DFGE, we can support you every step of the way on your journey to Environmental Social Governance (ESG) management and reporting. Our services range from opportunity-risk management, to the evaluation and assessment of sustainability criteria, to the full consideration of ESG criteria. As an authorized and long-standing partner of numerous ratings such as Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) or UN Global Compact and through our experience, we know the methods and can provide you with the best possible advice and take work off your hands. After all, the consideration of ecological, social and ethical aspects has long since ceased to be a nice-to-have, but represents a clear competitive advantage.

  • Tailor-made consulting services
  • Coverage of ESG criteria
  • Climate strategy
  • Workshops & trainings
  • Subtasks / external support

Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Ratings

ESG-Ratings are objective assessments of a company’s commitment to sustainable business practices. They can help investors incorporate more non-financial but essential information into their investment process. Depending on the industry, the aspects taken into account differ or receive a different weighting. DFGE helps you to categorise these different and, above all, constantly new requirements in a uniform manner and to answer them correctly in order to actively counter capital market risks.

MSCI

MSCI ESG Research is the world’s largest provider of sustainability analysis and ratings in the ESG sector. It identifies and evaluates material ESG risks and opportunities worldwide, which are usually not taken into account in traditional financial analysis.

TRUCOST

Trucost, as part of S&P Global, assesses risks relating to climate change, natural resource constraints, and broader environmental, social, and governance factors. Trucost has been founded in 2000 and has its head office in London. The company makes estimates about the hidden costs of unsustainable use of natural resources by companies. For the United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI) Trucost estimated the cost of environmental damage by the 3000 largest public listed companies.

Sustainaliytics Logo

Sustainalytics is a global leader in ESG and Corporate Governance research and ratings. Over the last 25 years, they have brought together leading ESG research and client servicing professionals to retain that personal touch. Today, Sustainalytics supports hundreds of the world’s foremost investors who incorporate ESG and corporate governance insights into their investment processes.

Other ESG rating agencies, organizations and indices >

Your Advantages

Reasons why you should choose DFGE

Experience

For more than 20 years, we have been serving leading companies when it comes to calculating, evaluating and documenting sustainability.

Time Saving

Save time and effort and use our expertise. We bring together the most diverse standards and ratings and support you with valid answers

Official Partner

As an official partner of many sustainability standards, we know the methodologies of the assessments

Scientific

Sustainability needs facts. Our origins lie in research, and this is how we still work today.

Full Service Provider

We serve our clients holistically – to fulfill company-wide Environmental Social Governance (ESG).

Transparency

Our Sustainability Intelligence solutions create transparency and synergy effects, no matter which reporting you participate in.

ESG versus CSR?

The concept of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) is being expanded to include Environmental Social Governance (ESG). This involves evaluating the social responsibility of companies or the voluntary contribution of business to sustainable development – beyond legal requirements.

While CSR refers to responsible, corporate action in the social, ecological and economic framework, ESG ideally also combines a responsible corporate attitude when it comes to investment decisions, so-called “socially responsible investing” or also known as “sustainable & green finance”. In the digital age, in which it is possible for almost anyone to take a close look at the actions and background of a business enterprise, transparency and credibility are increasingly becoming the focus of corporate decisions.

The accompanying change in society towards more conscious consumption and questioning actions also shows a clear shift towards sustainable investment decisions on the capital market.

The importance of the capital market

Corporate Social Responsibility and the capital market will therefore no longer be separable in the future; sustainability and annual reports are increasingly merging. For this reason, in addition to investors and banks, other players such as rating agencies, international institutions and NGOs are entering the scene. One of the best-known examples of this is the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI), which develops and issues guidelines for the preparation of sustainability reports.

The DAX has also been addressing environmental, social and ethical aspects for some time. For example, the DAX® 50 ESG tracks the performance of the 50 largest and most liquid German companies listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange market that show a similarly good performance based on ESG criteria. Furthermore, the stocks must have passed standardized ESG filters related to SustainalyticsGlobal Compact Screening. Furthermore, companies that have a stake in businesses involving controversial weapons, tobacco production, thermal coal, nuclear energy and military contracts are excluded.

But the European Union is also gearing up for future requirements with new directives and regulations on sustainability reporting and “sustainable finance.” As early as April 2021, the European Commission published its proposal for a Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) to replace the Nonfinancial Reporting Directive (NFRD) currently in force. The proposal still has to go through the courts, but already offers a preview of the changes that will come to companies, banks and insurance companies in terms of reporting.

Contact us!

+49 8192 99 7 33-20

Environmental Social Governance (ESG)

Die Corporate Social Responsibility in der Finanzwelt

Environmental Social Governance (ESG) erweitert den Begriff der Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). ESG verknüpft eine verantwortungsvolle unternehmerische Haltung mit Investitionsentscheidungen, dem sog. “socially responsible investing” oder auch bekannt als “sustainable & green finance”. Der DAX® 50 ESG bildet die Performance der 50 größten deutschen Unternehmen ab, die eine ähnlich gute Performance basierend auf den ESG-Kriterien aufweisen. Die Europäische Union fordert “Sustainable Finance” und mit Spannung wird die Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) erwartet.

Der einhergehende Wandel in der Gesellschaft hin zu Transparenz und Glaubwürdigkeit zeigt am Kapitalmarkt eine eindeutige Verschiebung hin zu nachhaltigen Investmententscheidungen. Wir bei der DFGE – Institute for Energy, Ecology and Economy – unterstützen unsere Kunden seit über zwei Jahrzehnten, die richtigen Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Kriterien

Eine Vielzahl an ESG-Kriterien werden beispielsweise von Investoren in die Bewertung und Analyse von Wertpapieren mit einbezogen, um soziale, ökologische und ethische Aspekte bewerten zu können.

Environment

 

  • Umweltschutz & Erhaltung der Biodiversität
  • Strategien zum Klimaschutz / Klimastrategien
  • Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien
  • Emissionsreduktion
  • gewissenhafter Einsatz von Rohstoffen und Energie

Social

 

  • Arbeitssicherheit & Gesundheitsschutz
  • Einhaltung der Arbeitsrechte
  • Faire Arbeitsbedingungen
  • Verbot von Kinderarbeit / Zwangsarbeit
  • Einhaltung der ESG Kriterien bei Zulieferbetrieben und Dienstleistern

Governance

 

  • Ethische vertretbare Unternehmensführung
  • Compliance
  • Verhinderung von Korruption
  • Unabhängiger Aufsichtsrat
  • Risikomanagement
CDP Logo 2022
UNGC
GRI Community 2021 Logo

ESG Services

Mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung & wissenschaftlich fundiert

Services: Individuell & modular

Bei der DFGE können wir Sie bei jedem Schritt Ihres Wegs zum Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Management und Reporting unterstützen. Unsere Services reichen vom Chancen-Risiko Management, über die Bewertung und Einschätzung von Nachhaltigkeitskriterien bis hin zur vollständigen Berücksichtigung der ESG-Kriterien. Als autorisierter und langjähriger Partner zahlreicher Ratings wie Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) oder UN Global Compact und durch unsere Erfahrungen kennen wir die Methoden und können Sie bestmöglich beraten und Ihnen Arbeit abnehmen. Denn die Berücksichtigung ökologischer, sozialer und ethischer Aspekte ist schon seit langem kein Nice-To-Have mehr, sondern stellt einen klaren Wettbewerbsvorteil dar.

  • Maßgeschneiderte Consulting-Services
  • Abdeckung der ESG-Kriterien
  • Klimastrategie
  • Workshops & Trainings
  • Teilaufgaben / externer Support

Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Ratings

Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Ratings sind objektive Beurteilungen des Engagements eines Unternehmens für nachhaltige Geschäftspraktiken. Sie können Anlegern dabei helfen, mehr nichtfinanzielle, aber wesentliche Informationen in ihren Anlageprozess einzubeziehen. Je nach Branche unterscheiden sich die berücksichtigten Aspekte oder erfahren eine unterschiedliche Gewichtung. Die DFGE hilft Ihnen diese unterschiedlichen und vor allem ständig neuen Anforderungen einheitlich zu kategorisieren und korrekt zu beantworten, um Kapitalmarktrisiken aktiv zu begegnen.

MSCI

MSCI ESG Research ist der weltweit größte Anbieter für Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen und Ratings im Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Bereich. Es werden weltweit materielle ESG-Risiken und -Chancen, die im Rahmen der klassischen Finanzanalyse meist nicht berücksichtigt werden identifiziert und bewertet.

TRUCOST

Trucost, als Teil von S&P Global, bewertet Risiken in Bezug auf den Klimawandel, die Beschränkung natürlicher Ressourcen und allgemeinere Umwelt-, Sozial- und Governance-Faktoren. Das Unternehmen erstellt Schätzungen über die versteckten Kosten eines nicht nachhaltigen Umgangs mit natürlichen Ressourcen durch Unternehmen. Für die Finanzinitiative des Umweltprogramms der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP FI) schätzte Trucost die Kosten für Umweltschäden durch die 3000 größten börsennotierten Unternehmen.

Sustainaliytics Logo

Sustainalytics ist ein weltweit führender Anbieter von Environmental Social Governance (ESG) und Corporate Governance Ratings. In den letzten 25 Jahren haben sie führende Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Experten zusammengebracht, um eine persönliche Kundenbetreuung zu gewährleisten. Heute unterstützt Sustainalytics Hunderte der weltweit führenden Investoren, die Environmental Social Governance (ESG) und Corporate-Governance Kenntnisse in ihre Anlageprozesse einbeziehen.

Weitere ESG-Rating-Agenturen, Organisationen und Indizes >

Ihre Vorteile

Gründe, warum Sie sich für die DFGE entscheiden sollten

Erfahrung

Seit mehr als 20 Jahren betreuen wir führende Unternehmen, wenn es darum geht Nachhaltigkeit zu berechnen, zu bewerten und zu dokumentieren.

Zeitersparnis

Sparen Sie Zeit und Mühe und nutzen Sie unsere Expertise. Wir bringen unterschiedlichste Standards und Ratings zusammen und unterstützen mit validen Antworten

Offizieller Partner

Als offizieller Partner vieler Nachhaltigkeit-Standards kennen wir die Methodiken der Bewertungen

Wissenschaftlich

Nachhaltigkeit braucht Fakten. Unsere Wurzeln liegen in der Forschung und so arbeiten wir auch heute noch.

Full Service Provider

Wir betreuen unsere Kunden ganzheitlich – zur Erfüllung unternehmensweiter Environmental Social Governance (ESG).

Transparenz

Unsere Sustainability Intelligence Lösungen schaffen Transparenz und Synergie-Effekte, ganz gleich an welchem Reporting Sie teilnehmen

ESG versus CSR?

Der Begriff der Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) wird durch Environmental Social Governance (ESG) erweitert. Dabei geht es um die Evaluierung der Sozialverantwortung von Unternehmen bzw. um den freiwilligen Beitrag der Wirtschaft zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung – jenseits gesetzlicher Anforderungen.

Während CSR sich auf verantwortliches, unternehmerisches Handeln im sozialen, ökologischen und ökonomischen Rahmen bezieht, verbindet die ESG idealerweise auch eine verantwortungsvolle unternehmerische Haltung, wenn es um Investitionsentscheidungen geht, dem sog. “socially responsible investing” oder auch bekannt als “sustainable & green finance”. Im digitalen Zeitalter, in dem es nahezu jedem möglich ist, sich intensiv mit den Handlungen und Hintergründen eines Wirtschaftsunternehmens auseinander zu setzen, rücken Transparenz und Glaubwürdigkeit immer mehr in den Fokus unternehmerischer Entscheidungen.

Der einhergehende Wandel in der Gesellschaft hin zu bewussterem Konsum und hinterfragendem Handeln, zeigt auch am Kapitalmarkt eine eindeutige Verschiebung hin zu nachhaltigen Investmententscheidungen.

Die Bedeutung des Kapitalmarktes

Corporate Social Responsibility und der Kapitalmarkt werden in Zukunft also nicht mehr voneinander zu trennen sein; Nachhaltigkeits- und Geschäftsberichte verschmelzen zunehmend miteinander. Aus diesem Grund treten neben Investoren und Banken auch weitere Akteure wie Rating-Agenturen, internationale Institutionen und NGOs auf den Plan. Eines der bekanntesten Beispiele hierfür ist die Global Reporting Initiative (GRI), welche Richtlinien für die Erstellung von Nachhaltigkeitsberichten entwickelt und herausgibt.

Auch der DAX befasst sich seit geraumer Zeit mit umweltbezogenen, sozialen und ethischen Aspekten. So bildet der DAX® 50 ESG die Performance der 50 größten und liquidesten deutschen Unternehmen ab, die am Markt der Frankfurter Wertpapierbörse notiert sind und eine ähnlich gute Performance basierend auf den ESG-Kriterien aufweisen. Des Weiteren müssen die Aktien standardisierte ESG-Filter in Bezug auf das Global Compact Screening von Sustainalytics passiert haben. Ferner sind Unternehmen, die eine Beteiligung an Geschäften mit umstrittenen Waffen, Tabakproduktion, Kraftwerkskohle, Kernenergie und Verträgen mit Militär haben, ausgeschlossen.

Aber auch die Europäische Union rüstet sich mit neuen Richtlinien und Verordnungen zur Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung und “Sustainable Finance” für zukünftige Anforderungen. Bereits im April 2021 hat die Europäische Kommission ihren Vorschlag für eine Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) veröffentlicht, die die bisher geltende Nonfinancial Reporting Directive (NFRD) ersetzen soll. Der Vorschlag muss noch durch die Instanzen, bietet aber schon jetzt einen Ausblick auf die Veränderungen, die auf Unternehmen, Banken und Versicherungen in Sachen Berichterstattung zukommen werden.

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

+49 8192 99 7 33-20