DJSI

DJSI: Extensive sustainability analysis of the world’s largest companies

image djsiFounded in 1999, the DJSI (Dow Jones Sustainability Index) is arguably the most well-known index on corporate sustainability valuation. Among the world’s 2,500 largest corporations listed on the S & P Global Broad Market Index are those companies identified that provide the best sustainability performance in terms of economic, environmental and social considerations in their respective industries. Finally, DJSI World captures the top ten percent of all participating companies (across all sectors). In addition, the best 20% of the 600 largest North American companies (USA & Canada) listed in the S & P Global BMI will be identified within the framework of DJSI North America with regard to their sustainability performance. There are also other indices related to geographical constraints, such as DJSI Europe / Asia Pacific / Australia / Chile or Korea.

The data required for the measurement is primarily generated by a questionnaire, which companies have to fill out. In addition, publicly available documents (e.g. annual report, sustainability report) as well as direct contacts with relevant companies count as sources of information. The questionnaire is sent out and analyzed, by the Swiss investment company RobecoSAM, which is specialized in sustainability investment. RobecoSAM is doing the analysis of central data as well.

Our Services

Response Check DJSI: Use this check before submitting your DJSI answers

Response check is a high level ‘checking’ service for DJSI responding companies. Prior to final submission to DJSI, an external check can now be performed to ensure the response is as complete as possible. Take the chance and have your completed questionnaire checked again. This will ensure that all necessary data and documents are in place and you can submit the questionnaire with a clear conscience.

  • We check your answered questions and data before final submission to DJSI
  • We consult you on an individual basis and provide direct feedback to you
  • We show you options for improvement of your DJSI reporting

DJSI Complete – Turnkey solution

It is not our intention to block your internal resources and invade you with consultants, nor do we want to initiate multi-year projects on energy and resource management. We want to guide you quickly and reliably through the DJSI process and as a result reduce your workload.

Our DJSI package is a turn-key solution which covers all relevant DJSI requirements and ensures a correct DJSI rating of your company accurately based on appropriate and validated content. We support you from capture to entry of responses into the DJSI system. Because of our know-how in relevant sustainability areas, we ensure the best possible contribution during the process of your DJSI participation.

  • Kick-Off workshop – Briefing, data review, clear milestones and deliverables
  • Data collection by DFGE – Leveraging existing data, filling the gaps
  • Response suggestions by DFGE

DJSI Services – Individual & modular

We consult you on an individual basis, providing internal trainings for your team, but also workshops and subtasks during the DJSI participation.

  • Workshops & trainings
  • Tailor-made consulting services
  • Validation of your responses

Your advantages:

  • We know the methodology and evaluation of the DJSI rating
  • Many years of experience in relevant areas of sustainability
  • Dynamic and holistic customer care – your participation in DJSI is just one part of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). Our Sustainability Intelligence solutions create transparency and synergy effects, no matter in which reporting initiative you participate
  • Professional support also for other indices: e.g. FTSE4Good, NAI (Nature Stock Index), Domini 400 Social Index, …
  • We do not see ourselves as consultants which accompany you for months on site and conduct long lasting projects, but in contrast as trainers or service providers – in order to minimize resources you have to invest for a successful DJSI participation
  • Save time and effort and make use of our expertise
  • Also, we are not an advertising company which makes your charts look more beautiful. Originally, we come from science, and that still influences the way we work today
Further Information about DJSI

The sustainability criteria (economic, environmental and social) are sector specific and diverge from one industry to another. Due to the high status of the DJSI, a listing is very image-enhancing. This is the reason why in recent years a real competition (companies concerned) has sparked the efforts of sustainability-relevant aspects. The response rate of sent out questionnaires is steadily increasing, too.

Another reason for the increasing relevance is the connection with the evaluation by the market research company Gartner. In its evaluation (Supply Chain Top 25), CSR criteria now incorporates ten percent (corresponds to ten points). Of these, five points depends on whether the company has been included in the DJSI World. Conversely, if a company which is listed on the S & P Global BMI isn’t among the best-in-class companies, then 50% of the CSR criteria are already missing from the Gartner index, which can cause reputational damage for some companies.

 

Which general criteria are primarily queried at the DJSI?

Economic dimension:

  • Codes of Business Conduct
  • Corporate Governance
  • Materiality
  • Risk- & crisis management

Ecological dimension:

  • Environmental policy & management systems
  • Environmental reporting

Social dimension:

  • Corporate Citizenship & philanthropic activities
  • Personal development
  • Indicators for labour practices and human rights
  • Reporting
  • Talent promotion and loyalty

Beside that: many industry-specific criteria within the considered dimensionsviele branchenspezifische Kriterien innerhalb der betrachteten Dimensionen

RobecoSAM

The Swiss investment company RobecoSAM was founded in 1995 and is specialized in sustainable investment. The product range includes Asset Management, Sustainability Indices, Corporate Sustainability Assessment, etc. For the DJSI rating, the company sends the required questionnaire annually to the world’s largest corporations.

The methodological evaluation of the data generated by the questionnaire is based on the CSA (Corporate Sustainability Assessment) which has been introduced by RobecoSAM in 1999. The results obtained are also considered for other products offered by RobecoSAM, in order to make it easier for stakeholders (predominantly investors) to present and compare the sustainability performance of relevant companies.

Weitere Infos

DJSI

DJSI: Umfangreiche Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse der weltgrößten Unternehmen

image djsiDer 1999 eingeführte DJSI (Dow Jones Sustainability Index) ist der wohl bekannteste Index hinblickend auf die Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung von Unternehmen. Er basiert auf dem sog. Best-in-Class-Prinzip. Von den 2.500 größten Konzernen der Welt, die im S&P Global Broad Market Index gelistet sind, werden diejenigen Unternehmen identifiziert, die die besten Nachhaltigkeitsleistungen hinsichtlich ökonomischer, ökologischer und sozialer Gesichtspunkte in ihrer jeweiligen Branche erbringen. Im DJSI World werden schließlich die besten zehn Prozent aller Unternehmen (über alle Sektoren hinweg) erfasst. Daneben werden im Rahmen des DJSI North America die besten 20 % der insgesamt 600 größten nordamerikanischen Unternehmen (USA & Kanada), die im S&P Global BMI gelistet sind, im Hinblick auf deren Nachhaltigkeitsperformance ausfindig gemacht. Außerdem gibt es weitere Indizes beziehend auf geographische Eingrenzungen, wie bspw. den DJSI Europe / Asia Pacific / Australia / Chile oder Korea.

Die für die Messung erforderlichen Daten werden primär durch einen Fragebogen, den die Unternehmen ausfüllen müssen, generiert. Daneben zählen öffentlich zugängliche Dokumente (z. B. Jahres-, Nachhaltigkeitsbericht) sowie direkte Kontakte zu betreffenden Unternehmen als Informationsquelle. Die Aussendung und Auswertung des Fragebogens sowie die Analyse der zentralen Daten erfolgt durch das Schweizer Investmentunternehmen RobecoSAM, das sich auf Sustainability Investment spezialisiert hat.

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Unsere Services

DJSI Response Check – besser geprüft einreichen

Der Response Check ist ein Prüfservice auf hohem Niveau für die am DJSI teilnehmenden Unternehmen. Um sicherzustellen, dass die Antworten so vollständig wie möglich sind, kann nun vor der finalen Absendung ein externer Check durchgeführt werden. Nutzen Sie die Chance und lassen Sie Ihren ausgefüllten Fragebogen nochmals gegenchecken. So ist sichergestellt, dass alle erforderlichen Daten und Dokumente vorhanden sind und Sie können den Fragebogen besten Gewissens einreichen.

  • Überprüfung aller Antworten vor Submission
  • Direktes Feedback
  • Finale Optimierungsmöglichkeiten

DJSI Complete – Alles aus einer Hand

Unser Ziel ist es nicht, Ihnen für Monate Berater ins Haus zu schicken. Vielmehr wollen wir Sie sicher und rasch durch den DJSI-Fragebogen führen und Ihnen wo nur möglich Arbeit abnehmen.

Unser DJSI-Komplettpaket ist eine schlüsselfertige Lösung, die alle vom DJSI geforderten Aspekte und Kennzahlen abdeckt. Durch inhaltsreiche und geprüfte Beantwortungen der Fragen verhelfen wir zu einer korrekten DJSI-Bewertung Ihres Unternehmens. Von der Erfassung bis zum Eintrag der Antworten in das DJSI-System. Durch unser langjähriges Know-how in relevanten Nachhaltigkeitsbereichen tragen wir bestmöglich zum Ablaufprozess Ihrer DJSI-Teilnahme bei

  • Kick-Off Workshop und Situationsanalyse
  • Review bestehender Daten und Analyse der Lücken
  • Vorschlag zu Antworten/Inhalten von der DFGE

DJSI Services – Individuell & modular

Wir unterstützen Sie auch ganz individuell, von internen Trainings für Ihr Team bis zu Workshops oder Teilaufgaben bei der DJSI-Teilnahme.

  • Workshops & Trainings
  • Maßgeschneiderte Consulting Services
  • Validierung Ihrer Antworten

Ihre Vorteile:

  • Wir kennen die Methodik und Evaluierung der DJSI-Bewertung
  • Sparen Sie Zeit und Mühe und nutzen Sie unsere Expertise
  • Dynamische und ganzheitliche Kundenbetreuung – Ihre DJSI-Teilnahme ist nur ein Teil der Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). Unsere Sustainability Intelligence Lösungen schaffen Transparenz und Synergie-Effekte, ganz gleich an welchem Reporting Sie teilnehmen.
  • Professionelle Unterstützung auch bei anderen Indizes: z. B. FTSE4Good, NAI (Natur-Aktien-Index), Domini 400 Social Index, …
  • Wir sehen uns nicht als Consultants, die monatelang bei Ihnen vor Ort sitzen und jahrelange Projekte wollen, sondern als Coach, Berater und Dienstleister – um Ressourcen auf Ihrer Seite zu minimieren und dennoch erfolgreich am DJSI teil zu nehmen.
  • Langjährige Erfahrung in relevanten Bereichen der Nachhaltigkeit
  • Auch sind wir keine Werbeagentur, die Ihre Daten hübscher macht. Unsere Wurzeln liegen in der Forschung und so arbeiten wir auch heute noch.
Weitere Informationen zum DJSI

Die Nachhaltigkeitskriterien (ökonomisch, ökologisch und sozial) sind sektorspezifisch und divergieren daher von Branche zu Branche. Auf Grund des hohen Stellenwerts des DJSI ist eine Notierung sehr imagefördernd, weswegen in den letzten Jahren ein regelrechter Wettbewerb (betreffender Unternehmen) um die Bemühungen nachhaltigkeitsrelevanter Aspekte entfacht ist.

Die Antwortrate der ausgesendeten Fragebögen steigt stetig. Ein weiterer Grund für die zunehmende Relevanz ist der Zusammenhang mit der Bewertung durch das Marktforschungsunternehmen Gartner. Dieses lässt in seine Evaluierung (Supply Chain Top 25) nun zehn Prozent (entspricht zehn Punkten) an CSR-Kriterien einfließen.

Davon hängt allein die Hälfte (= fünf Punkte) davon ab, ob das entsprechende Unternehmen in den DJSI World aufgenommen wurde. Im Umkehrschluss heißt das: gehört ein im S&P Global BMI gelistetes Unternehmen nicht in den Kreis der Best-in-Class-Companies, fehlen bereits 50 % der CSR-Kriterien beim Gartner-Index, was für einige Unternehmen wiederum Reputationsschäden hervorrufen kann.

Welche allgemeinen Kriterien werden primär beim DJSI abgefragt?

Ökonomische Dimension:

  • Codes of Business Conduct
  • Corporate Governance
  • Wesentlichkeit
  • Risiko- & Krisenmanagement

Ökologische Dimension:

  • Umweltpolitik & Managementsysteme
  • Umweltberichterstattung

Soziale Dimension:

  • Corporate Citizenship & philanthropische Aktivitäten
  • Personalentwicklung
  • Arbeitspraktikenbezogene Kennzahlen und Menschenrechte
  • Berichterstattung
  • Talentförderung & -bindung

Daneben: viele branchenspezifische Kriterien innerhalb der betrachteten Dimensionen

RobecoSAM

Das Schweizer Investmentunternehmen RobecoSAM wurde 1995 gegründet und hat sich auf nachhaltiges Investment spezialisiert. Das Produktangebot umfasst u. a. Asset Management, Nachhaltigkeitsindizes, Corporate Sustainability Assessment, usw. Für die DJSI-Bewertung entsendet das Unternehmen jährlich den erforderlichen Fragebogen an die weltgrößten Konzerne.

Die methodische Evaluierung der durch den Fragebogen generierten Daten erfolgt durch das von RobecoSAM 1999 eingeführte CSA (Corporate Sustainability Assessment). Die daraus erzielten Ergebnisse fließen neben der DJSI-Berücksichtigung auch in andere durch RobecoSAM angebotene Produkte ein, um es Stakeholdern (vorwiegend Investoren) zu vereinfachen, die Nachhaltigkeitsleistung relevanter Unternehmen darzustellen und vergleichbar zu machen.

Weitere Infos