BLG LOGISTICS GROUP AG & Co. KG

BLG LOGISTICS GROUP AG & Co. KG: Support in the development of SBTi climate protection goals

 

BLG Case Study SmallThe BLG LOGISTICS GROUP AG & Co.  KG is a seaport and logistics service provider with an international network. The company group offers logistics system services in the three business areas of automotive, contract and container logistics. Its customers include the leading automobile manufacturers as well as strong brands from the retail sector. Approximately 11,700 employees – many of them in Bremen (headquarters) and Bremerhaven – assume responsibility for the smooth logistics of high-quality products on a daily basis.

BLG LOGISTICS began publishing an annual sustainability report in 2012 and set itself the first company-wide climate protection goal in the same year. Sustainable action is anchored in company practice through active energy management and projects such as the comprehensive conversion from lighting to LED illuminants as well as social commitment in numerous social projects. Having reached the 2020 climate protection target ahead of schedule, the company is now continuing its efforts and setting itself new, far-reaching CO2 reduction targets with its Climate Mission.

“Within the framework of the project support provided by DFGE, their experts were able to strengthen us in our project, the submission of our climate protection goals to SBTi. In particular, the challenging Scope 3 screening was addressed and key problems were eliminated. Hopefully, nothing will prevent the recognition of our goals”.

picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Julian Fischer, Project Manager Climate Protection and Energy ManagementBLG LOGISTICS

Further Information

Contact

Removal of ambiguities in the calculation of the Scope 3 inventory

Challenges

The elaboration of a new, ambitious climate protection target should meet the requirements of the Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTi). Science Based Targets (SBT) are scientifically based CO2 reduction targets that are intended to help reducing global warming. This approach, however, also brought along some difficulties and uncertainties.

Questions arose for BLG LOGISTICS especially within the context of calculating and structuring the Scope 3 inventory. This refers to indirect company emissions that arise through procurement, travel, employee commuting and logistical services. Further challenges were posed by the complex criteria and the validation process of SBTi.

Analysis of customer data under consideration of relevant requirements

Solutions

In order to create more clarity and transparency for BLG LOGISTICS with regard to the requirements of SBTi and to ensure the smoothest possible submission of objectives, the Scope 3 documents were checked in detail by DFGE for the requirements of the Greenhouse Gas Protocol Standard and SBTi.

In a first step, the DFGE experts reviewed and evaluated the Scope 3 inventory of BLG LOGISTICS in terms of completeness and relevance. In order to meet the high requirements of SBTi both in terms of content and organization, DFGE actively supported BLG LOGISTICS with its expertise.

In a second step, the calculation bases, parameters and calculation processes were checked for accuracy and suitability. Finally, suitable suggestions for improvement were developed to increase the chances of success for a positive test report from SBTi.

After the analysis phase, an on-site workshop was held at BLG LOGISTICS in Bremen. During this workshop, the results were presented and open questions were discussed, e.g. regarding the further procedure on the way to SBT submission, the regular cycle of recalculation of SBT goals and possible triggers for unscheduled recalculation. Further questions revolved around the preliminary targets for Scopes 1 and 2, the definition of a suitable base year and the requirements arising from the SBTi criteria.

Assistance with the submission of Science-Based Targets

Results

The main output of the project was to review and improve the Scope 3 carbon footprint so that it can be used as the basis for a Science-based Targets (SBT) outcome calculation. In addition, the workshop consolidated the base year, the approach to target setting and the target level on which the SBT strategy of BLG LOGISTICS will be applied. Other open questions were also clarified, eliminating obstacles on the way to SBT submission.

With the results of the project strengthened, BLG LOGISTICS will complete the Scope 3 Carbon Footprint survey in the coming months and plans to submit the climate protection target to SBTi in autumn 2020.

CDP Accredited Provider 2020 Logo
EcoVadis certified partner logo
UNCG Endorser Logo
GRI Community 2019 Logo

BLG LOGISTICS GROUP AG & Co. KG

BLG LOGISTICS GROUP AG & Co. KG: Unterstützung bei der Ausarbeitung von SBTi-Klimaschutzzielen

 

BLG Case Study SmallDie BLG LOGISTICS GROUP AG & Co. KG ist ein Seehafen- und Logistikdienstleister mit internationalem Netzwerk. In den drei Geschäftsbereichen der Automobil-, Kontrakt- und Containerlogistik bietet die Unternehmensgruppe logistische Systemdienstleistungen an. Zu den Kunden zählen die führenden Automobilhersteller ebenso wie starke Marken aus dem Handel. Rund 11.700 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter – viele davon in Bremen (Hauptsitz) und Bremerhaven – übernehmen täglich die Verantwortung für die reibungslose Logistik hochwertiger Produkte.

BLG LOGISTICS begann im Jahr 2012 mit der Veröffentlichung eines jährlich erscheinenden Nachhaltigkeitsberichts und setzte sich im selben Jahr das erste unternehmensweite Klimaschutzziel. In der Unternehmenspraxis verankert ist nachhaltiges Wirken unter anderem durch ein gelebtes Energiemanagement und Projekte wie die flächendeckende Umrüstung von Beleuchtung auf LED-Leuchtmittel sowie dem gesellschaftlichen Engagement in zahlreichen soziale Projekten. Nach dem vorzeitigen Erreichen des 2020-Klimaschutzzieles setzt das Unternehmen nun seine Bemühungen fort und setzt sich mit seiner Mission Klima neue weitreichende CO2-Reduktions-Ziele.

„Im Rahmen der Projektunterstützung durch die DFGE konnten uns deren Experten bei unserem Vorhaben, der Einreichung unserer Klimaschutzziele bei der SBTi, stärken. Insbesondere das herausfordernde Scope 3 Screening wurde hierbei angegangen und zentrale Probleme beseitigt. So wird der Anerkennung unserer Ziele hoffentlich nichts mehr im Wege stehen.“

picture shwoing hills and a cliff
Julian Fischer, Projektmanager Klimaschutz- und EnergiemanagementBLG LOGISTICS

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Beseitigung von Unklarheiten bei der Berechnung des Scope 3 Inventars

Herausforderung

Die Ausarbeitung eines neuen, ambitionierten Klimaschutzziels sollte den Anforderungen der Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTi) entsprechenden. Science Based Targets (SBT) sind wissenschaftlich fundierte CO2-Reduktionsziele, welche helfen sollen, die globale Erderwärmung einzudämmen. Diese Vorgehensweise brachte aber auch einige Schwierigkeiten und Unsicherheiten mit sich.

Fragen ergaben sich für BLG LOGISTICS insbesondere im Rahmen der Berechnung und Strukturierung des Scope 3 Inventars. Damit werden die indirekten Unternehmensemissionen, die durch Beschaffung, Reisetätigkeit, Mitarbeiterpendeln und logistische Leistungen entstehen, bezeichnet. Weitere Herausforderungen stellten die komplexen Kriterien und der Validierungsprozess der SBTi dar.

Analyse der Kundendaten unter Berücksichtigung der relevanten Anforderungen

Lösung

Um mehr Klarheit und Transparenz für BLG LOGISTICS in Bezug auf die Anforderungen der SBTi zu schaffen und eine möglichst reibungslose Zieleinreichung zu gewährleisten, wurden die Scope 3 Unterlagen von der DFGE im Detail auf die Anforderungen des Greenhouse Gas Protocol Standards und der SBTi geprüft.

In einem ersten Schritt sichteten und bewerteten die Experten der DFGE das Scope 3 Inventar von BLG LOGISTICS in Bezug auf Vollständigkeit und Relevanz.Um den hohen Anforderungen der SBTI sowohl inhaltlich als auch organisatorisch gerecht zu werden, stand DFGE mit deren Expertise BLG LOGISTICS tatkräftig zur Seite.

In einem zweiten Schritt wurden die Berechnungsgrundlagen, Parameter und Rechenvorgänge auf Genauigkeit und Tauglichkeit überprüft. Schließlich wurden passende Verbesserungsvorschläge entwickelt, um die Erfolgsaussichten auf einen positiven Prüfbescheid von der SBTi zu erhöhen.

Im Anschluss der Analysephase fand in Bremen ein Vor-Ort-Workshop bei BLG LOGISTICS statt. In diesem wurden die Ergebnisse vorgestellt und offene Fragen bspw. zu dem weiteren Vorgehen auf dem Weg zur SBT-Einreichung, dem regulären Turnus der Neuberechnung der SBT-Ziele sowie zu möglichen Auslösern einer außerplanmäßigen Neuberechnung diskutiert. Weitere Fragen drehten sich um die vorläufigen Targets für Scope 1 und 2, die Festlegung eines geeigneten Basisjahrs und die Anforderungen, die aus den SBTi-Kriterien hervorgehen.

Hilfestellung bei der Einreichung von Science-Based Targets

Ergebnis

Hauptoutput des Projekts war die Prüfung und Verbesserung des Scope 3 CO2-Fußabdrucks, so dass dieser als Grundlage für eine Science-based Targets (SBT) Zielberechnung verwendet werden kann. Zudem wurden im Workshop das Basisjahr, der Ansatz zur Zielfestlegung und das Zielniveau auf den sich die SBT-Strategie von BLG LOGISTICS stützen wird, gefestigt. Auch wurden weitere offene Fragen geklärt und dadurch Hindernisse auf dem Weg zur SBT-Einreichung beseitigt.

Mit den Ergebnissen aus dem Projekt gestärkt wird BLG LOGISTICS in den kommenden Monaten die Erhebung des Scope 3 Carbon Footprints fertigstellen und plant die Klimaschutzzielsetzung bei der SBTi im Herbst des Jahres 2020 einzureichen.

CDP Accredited Provider 2020 Logo
EcoVadis certified partner logo
UNCG Endorser Logo
GRI Community 2019 Logo